19 Aug 14 – Back to Outlaw

After 3 weeks out, it was back in to the Outlaw CrossFit programming today and it felt goooooooooooooooood.

I’m beginning to appreciate my “Tabata-style” Warm Ups more and more now. Twice through of 20secs work, 10secs rest of a combination of movements. Today it was: Push Ups, Sit Ups, Dips, Squats. It is not done with any real intensity but is purely to get the muscles moving. You can always then add another 4 mins work with 4 different movements too.

The Barbell WOD was 4 rounds of 5 Front Squats w/ 3 sec Pause at the bottom. I began with 50kg, moved up in 5s to 70kg to finish. Holding those squats for a full 3 seconds without losing form is intensity in itself!! Thoroughly enjoyed that one. The new shoes were definitely appreciated (Adidas Powerlift 2).

For the MetCon, it was 3 Rounds For Time of:

  • 50 x Double Unders
  • 30 x Overhead Plate Lunges (20kg)
  • 20 x Over Plate Burpees
  • Rest 1:30

The first 2 rounds of Double Unders were completely unbroken and this was very pleasing indeed. On the third round I tripped at 18 but quickly regained and continued on to finish. I broke all OH Plate Lunges in to 10s because the gym isn’t long enough to keep going. I didn’t pause more than long enough to turn around; I genuinely did push myself on those and they did HURT! 😀 As for the burpees, I didn’t break these up but maintained a good, steady rhythm.

My times for each round were: 3:47, 3:54 and 4:14. The third round was punctuated by me tripping on the rope at the beginning of the DUs and then at 18. To be fair, the Lunges took longer in the third round too although not significantly; it all adds up though!

Nutrition during these last two days has been much better. Lots of coconut water, beef slices and then a lovely Chilli yesterday. Today has been >2mg EPA/DHA Fish Oil, 50g of supplemented Protein (at the time of writing – post-lunch), tin of sardines with green salad and I’m sure tonight’s dinner will be as tasty as last night’s. The only negative of note is the amount of caffeine I’ve drunk over the last 3 days, mainly due to very long drives between Portsmouth and Plymouth. When I get aboard later this month that amount of caffeine simply won’t be available so it’ll be a great ‘comedown’ opportunity.

Leave a comment