Open WOD 17.4, Travel WODs

There’s always room to work out


Another work trip this week, another break in training but a welcome one. After conducting 17.4 last Friday, after 4 hours of judging it in total, and after an awesome engine-building session on Monday  (plus more judging), I’ve not been too disheartened to take a little rest this week while off on travels once again.

17.4 was just brilliant, right? Genuinely, I loved it. Back on 16.4 (same workout), I was suffering with flu quite badly. I was also visiting a new job and so decided to Drop-in to CrossFit Watford for the very first time. Charlie (Owner) took one look at me and openly questioned my sanity; I was baggage. Idiotically,  I took my place at the start and proceeded to very slowly lurch my way through 55 Deadlifts. The wallballs made me almost vomit and the rower….did…actually make my vomit. It was criminal. I ended up in a pool of my own fluids, retching, coughing, and 145 reps for the worse.

So this year, at full capacity, I was determined to deliver something better. The aim was 4 Handstand Push Ups.

  • Deadlifts. 4 sets of 10. 1 x 8, 1 x 7. Strong, good form, rapid.
  • Wall Balls. 20, 15, 10, 10. Solid, rapid.
  • Row. Over 1200 cals per hour average.
  • Tiebreak Time: 9:09
  • Handstand Push Ups: 5, 5, 3, 2, 3, 2 (20)

Yes! Yes, I did get 20 HSPU and an increase of 40 over last year, with a final total of 185!  💪 What impressed me most were the Deadlifts; I never expected sets of 10, having planned for sets of 5. I remember last year really struggling with 5s. The atmosphere in the box was absolutely amazing too; we kept the tempo high and energy soaring. By the end of  night, I had definitely my bed.

That score puts me in the top 17% of Individual Men and Top 15% of Masters 35-39 worldwide! 😎

One to go.


But on to this week, and a trip overseas again. Knowing the hotel well, I anticipated the lack of a gym and took playing cards instead. 

Shuffle well. Start clock, turn card over and do what the card tells you, for Time. 

  • Clubs = Push Ups 
  • Hearts = Sit Ups 
  • Diamonds = Burpees 
  • Spades = Air Squats

Aces = 14

Completing it in 22:55 at 7am, I got bored at 5pm so did it again in 22 mins.😂 It’s a little toughie. You might end up with 2 or 3 cards of the same type, which really sucks the strength and happiness. Of course, the beauty of this particular WOD is that it is always different and impossible to get a firm hold on.

I then finished off the day with underwater laps of the small hotel pool, overlooking the beautiful city of Istanbul.

Do you have a ‘go to’ WOD for when you’re away from the box?

Leave a Reply

