My Nutrition & Slowing Down for the Open

Good Nutrition = Results

(You can’t out-train a Bad Diet)

I’ve just signed up for a Swim/Trail Run Duathlon in June!!! – 1km Sea Swim and 15km Trail Run, Devon, 25 June. More to follow…..

My nutrition has come up for a bit of discussion lately. Specifically, it came up more at the end of my recent post on “Miscounting”; I suspect this is because I drew people in (one of my highest ever read posts) but they then saw what it is I am eating routinely, and the immediate question from across the board was, “where are your carbs?!”.  First up, I need to assure (reassure) readers that I do eat enough (now) 😀 From a purely bodyweight point of view, not that I regularly weigh myself, I am still at or about 13st (182lbs). I have been this weight since….forever. Critically, in the last 5 years (of CrossFit), my waist has shrunk, chest expanded, body fat decreased (not as much as I would like), legs and arms grown, etc, etc. I take 2100mg of DPA/EHA (high quality Omega 3 oils) each day too. Now, that’s not to say that I have always got it right, not even in the recent past. When working on a squat programme last year, despite it being an excellent programme (not my own, I might add), I failed to improve my 1RM in 3 months of 3 sessions per week. Not a single Kg. Happily, my thrusters, wall balls and muscular endurance all shot through the roof but my actual strength flat-lined. I can only contribute this to nutrition and simply not eating enough / correctly. I remember how hard I worked in those sessions and know it wasn’t through lack of effort.

How Much. In reviewing goals for this year and in preparation for CF Open 2017, I watched, “Eating for Strength” from Barbell Shrugged (link below) where macros were outlined in broad order to promote strength and growth. Through that, and using MyFitnessPal to monitor, I realised that I was not getting anywhere close to enough Protein, was eating too much fat (should have been obvious) and not enough carbs to support high intensity training. Taking on board the “1g protein / lb bodyweight” advice for increased strength and growth, and typically “1g Carbs / lb bodyweight”, this amounts to (by KCal) 35% Carbs / 35% Protein / 30% Fats. This gives me a daily requirement for 184g of Carbs, 184g of Protein and 70g of Fats (approx 2100 KCal – a few over here and there are fine as long as the targets are met). Interestingly, this amounts to approximately 2100 KCal per day, some 400 below the generally accepted ‘norm’ of 2500 for an adult male. By and large, I hit these targets on a daily basis now and I’m feeling pretty good about it. I need to continue with this for the next few months, through the competition, and monitor changes. See Links below.

What I Eat. In terms of What I eat to meet those goals, I like to think that I have taken a “100% Clean, 80% of the Time” healthy view of it. I eat a few nuts and seeds, oats, milk (recently dropped from full fat to semi-skimmed to balance fat requirements), chicken/tuna, lots of eggs and lots of leaves / green veg. My evening meals are typically around 200-250g of lean beef / chicken with some rice and lots of veg again. Sure, I have MyProtein Whey Protein to supplement post-WOD and sometimes before bed (with milk) but this is to ensure I meet my targets in a simple, easily digestible manner.

I can report a noticeable reduction in body fat in the 4-5 weeks or so that I’ve been following and tweaking this.

 

 

AM Snatch Programme

5 x 5 Hi-Hang Snatch Hi-Pull

50 / 55 / 60 / 65 / 70kg

super sets: 5 x 5 Snatch Balance (Strict)

45 / 47.5 / 50 / 52.5 / 52.5kg

With the Open approaching next week, I am not going to increase my Snatch strength now. Instead, I have opted for a higher number, more time on the bar and slightly lower weights. This will support barbell cycling, which is going to come up more than outright strength. I am particularly happy with the Snatch Balances. These were done completely strict, with no heave – this is specifically all about the confidence to push yourself under that bar and QUICKLY.

PM CrossFit Watford Session

Partner WOD

7 Rounds of:

  • 1min Burpees
  • 1min Row (Cals)
  • 1min Rest

Score = Total Burpees and Cals between you.

Lauren was all on her lonesome this evening and so I swallowed the sickening feeling, having only eaten an hour previously, and joined her. We managed a respectable total of 427 between us. I kept to a pace of 18 cals per Min, on average, and 16 or 17 Burpees each minute. I’m pleased with this overall.

Nutrition

  • Pre-AM Session: Nothing – I forgot!!
  • Breakfast: 35g Oats, 200ml semi-skimmed Milk, 1 tbsp dessicated Coconut + 20g Whey Protein, 200ml semi-skimmed Milk.
  • Mid-Morning Snack: a few almonds, a walnut, a hazelnut + 2 x small boiled eggs.
  • Lunch: 3 x Scrambled Eggs (with 100ml semi-skimmed Milk), 25g Protein Cheese, 2 x Corned Beef Slices, 20g Leaves.
  • Mid-Afternoon Snack: Nil
  • Dinner: Chicken Rogan Josh (250g Chicken  Breast, 210g Sharwoods Rogan Josh sauce), 100g White Rice
  • Post-WOD: U-Fit Banana Protein Drink (this pushed me over my protein numbers)
  • Drink: 1 pint of Becks Blue (alcohol free)
  • TOTAL Cals: 2085! Boom!

MyFitnessPal Link: http://www.myfitnesspal.com/food/diary/nomadcelt

 

Links

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

