MyFitnessPal Use, Coaching Newbies, Recovery

20170104_212928.jpg

Don’t think about How Many Reps are Left.

Think about the 1 in Front of You.

And Then The Next One.

Coaching a whole new group. I had the privilege of coaching a group of 6 absolute CF beginners this morning. Run as a trial in our department, they wanted me to ‘thrash them’. Instead, we focused on the squat (as the fundamental to all dynamic movement), a little on overhead range of motion, the Clean & Press (as a demonstration of CF-related activities and because it is often so badly attempted) and then finished with a tasty little 15min AMRAP of: 5 x Kettlebell Swings (Russian), 10 x Push Ups and 15 x Air Squats. By the end, they felt like they’d been put through the mill but in a safe and controlled manner; it’s something they want to repeat next week so perhaps I’ve found some new converts! I genuinely feel honoured to be able to coach people, especially newcomers. To see that initial transformation in the first session, and then be part of genuine change over the longer term is something to feel proud of.

Recovering from over-use. My achilles / calves are extremely painful after a multitude of double unders and box jumps recently. Recovery is critical right now if I am to maintain pace of training in line with the Open. Good food, hot baths and mobility, mobility, mobility (and no double unders or box jumps for a while!).

MyFitness Pal Use. See my poll below. Who else is using MyFitnessPal to track and monitor intake? I have been doing so for quite a while now and find it exceptionally useful if used correctly. The amount of detail held in its vaults is quite staggering. I have set it up to approximate (and it only is an approximation) my daily requirements, based on 30% Protein, 30% Fat and 40% Carbs. It has roughly calculated my daily metabolic needs at 2700+ cals, based on a CrossFit session each day – I think this is an underestimation but I’ve left it so far. I then populate the daily diary with absolute everything that passes my lips; I don’t use scales to measure but I do use the weights / quantities on any original packaging used for ingredients in my recipes. See my log at: http://www.myfitnesspal.com/food/diary/nomadcelt I’ve been doing pretty well too; my fat loss has been noticeable in just 3 weeks, ensuring that I’m still keeling on top of the good quality food ingredients myself.

Morning Snatch Programme

EMOM 20 – 3 x Heaving Snatch Balance

  • 5 x 3 @ 50kg
  • 5 x 3 @ 55kg
  • 5 x 3 @ 65kg
  • 3 x 3 @ 70kg
  • 1 x 3 @ 72.5kg
  • 1 x 3 @ 75kg

Excitingly, this is a new PR for 3RM Snatch Balance. However, this is entirely to be expected at this stage as I ‘find my feet’ in the overhead work. I should be able to 3RM Snatch Balance more than I can actually Snatch (75kg 1RM) and so this is a good space to be in. I’d eaten well beforehand too, coming in to this an hour later than I usually do.

wp-1484771586419.jpg

CrossFit Watford Evening Session

Strength

EMOM 6

6 x Clusters (Clean to Thruster) @ 60% Clean 1RM (60kg)

This was brutal and hit my critical weakness – barbell cycling. I managed 3 rounds of 6 at 60kg and then had to drop to 55kg, only completing 5 and then a 4. Disappointing but I am working on it,

MetCon

EMOM 20

  • Evens – 150m Run
  • Odds – Max Effort Burpees

Score = Total Burpees = 172

What’s to like about repeating a minute Max Effort Burpees? Answer – nothing whatsoever! Evil, pure evil. However, I am happy with where my burpees are at for now. I completed 20 in the first round, leaving an average of 16-17 for the remainder. This is a good pace.

 

wp-1484763354148.jpg

Homemade Mexican Tuna on Spinach, Rocket and Watercress with some Cherry Tomatoes

Nutrition

  • Breakfast: 75g Porridge Oats, 25g Whey Protein, 400ml Whole Milk
  • Snack: 15g Mixed Nuts
  • Lunch: 3 x Scrambled Eggs on Kale, Watercress & Rocket, with some Cherry Tomatoes
  • Snack: 15g Mixed Nuts
  • Dinner: Homemade Mexican Tuna (145 Tuna, homegrown chillis and 100g Heinz 5 Bean) on a little white rice with 20g Spinach, and a tonne of rocket.
  • Post-WOD: 25g Whey Protein, 25g Dried Skimmed Milk Powder

 

Who is using MyFitnessPal?

2 Comments

  1. That AMRAP workout sounds great, I should try it. And the Mexican tuna dish looks like something I would eat too. I’ve used My Fitness Pal before but I’m simply unable to keep entering food for more than 2 weeks, so I don’t think it really works for me. Glad it works for you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

