Improving all the Time. CF Open 17 – Registered.

I may not be there yet

But I’m closer than I was yesterday.

Another restful weekend has just passed by. We spent it in the historic town of Warwick, mooching about Stratford Upon Avon, visiting castles and having fun with family. Having two full days off from training really appears to be working out for me, especially if I’ve been able to get a solid week of 6-7 sessions in beforehand. With a good rest, I always come in to the week with an explosive start; today was no exception. Starting off with the AM Snatch programme, I set myself a new record, starting heavier and finishing heavier. By the end of the day, I entered CF Watford aiming to do well and ended up joint top! Tidy beans!

Finally, the CrossFit Open is here again!! All signed up and RARING to go. Despite being a year older, I’m faster, have a much bigger engine and am in a better state than this time last year. Ok, my overall strength hasn’t increased but it hasn’t decreased either. My barbell cycling is better and all of my benchmarks scores have improved. I am genuinely excited going in to this one. Here goes!!

Morning Snatch Programme

Every Minute on the Minute x 20 (EMOM 20)
3 x Snatch Hi-Pull

5 x 50kg
5 x 55kg
5 x 60kg
3 x 65kg
2 x 70kg
1 x 72.5kg (1 Set of 3 Hi-Pulls at 72.5kg)

I started and finished heavier than last week. This is a better place to enter the Open with. If I can push this up to 75-77.5kg then I’ll be more content; of course, I actually have to be able to Snatch that much too!! 😀 😀

CF Watford Evening Session

Strength

5-3-1 Strict Weighted Pullups

5 x 16kg / 3 x 20 / 1 x 24 / 1 x 28 / 1 x 32kg!

PR! BOOM!

MetCon

14min AMRAP

  • 20 x Double Unders
  • 20 x Toes To Bar
  • 20 x Box Jumps @ 24″
  • 200m Run

CFW is really hammering the double unders at the moment and my right achilles is feeling it (which is weird because for the last two years it has been my left one). I only managed the third set unbroken, the others were broken once each, usually around about 15-18 – I do need to tighten these up before the Open. The Toes To Bar were tough – I’ve not done them in a while but I know there are more to come and so am happy they’ll be sorted by 23 Feb. As for the box jumps – unbroken throughout.

All in all, a good start to the week.

Nutrition

A shoddy weekend of food, truth be told. I’ve got to grip what I’m eating and drinking at weekends. Yes, I absolutely should have a “Vice Friday” or “Shame Saturday” but not a whole weekend of poor food; it was hard though because we were out and about, walking around in the rain and eating in Wetherspoons.

Today though:

Pre-AM Session: 10g Walnuts

  • Post-WOD: 25g Whey Protein + 200ml Whole Milk
  • Breakfast: 75g Porridge Oats + 200ml Whole Milk
  • Snack: 10g Mixed Nuts
  • Lunch: M&S Egg & Avocado Salad Bowl
  • Snack: 10g Mixed Nuts
  • Dinner: Fajita Chicken & Pork Mixed (350g approx. total) + 400g mashed Carrot & Parsnip
  • Post-WOD: 25g Whey Protein + 12.5g Skimmed Milk Powder
  • Drink: LOTS of Pink Grapefruit Squash (no sugar) and 330ml Coconut Water

 

Leave a Reply

