Annual Fitness Test, Christmas Build-Up

He who has no Christmas in his Heart

will find No Christmas under the Tree.

wp-1480527130589.jpg

It’s that time of year once more.

Basic Fitness Test, Annual.

In Combat Boots, Trousers and T-Shirt.

  • 50 x Sit Ups
  • 5 x Dead Hang Pull Ups (Strict)
  • 1.5 mile Run in 15 mins
  • 1.5 mile Run Best Effort (under 11.5 mins)

It’s not particularly arduous and I’ve obviously never failed it…..but by Odin’s Beard is it daunting! Despite never having come close to failing on this test in 16 years, it’s still the one event each year that fills me with apprehension. I should also put this a little in to context; for my age group, I actually have 13 mins for that second 1.5 miles! I also only have to do 30 x Sit Ups and 3 x Pull Ups. The standard that I will continue to achieve is actually the 18-29 year old standard. As the job changes, so the route for this changes too. Today, it was within the grounds of an extremely plush private school, along a straight 400m stretch of tarmac. This meant that every 400m was a slow-down-turn-speed-up; not ideal. While this was my slowest time in a while, it was still under the 10.5 min target that I always set myself. I even had to stop to tie up my boot laces with 600m to go! I’ve heard that the fitness test is being reviewed and I’ll be intrigued to see what it becomes; obviously, as long as it only gets harder and not easier, I’ll be a happy man.

A year older, no less fit.

It’s CHRISTMASSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!

Ok, it’s not. It’s 30 Nov (unless I fail to get this out on time), but I am feeling it! The fitness test today was done under clear blue winter skies, with thick frost still on the ground (at 1000hrs), my breath was practically forming snow as it escaped my heaving lungs and I definitely had that Christmassy tingle. Boom! Love it!

CrossFit Watford 1930 Session

Strength

5-3-1 Deadlift (aiming for 1RM)

5 x 120 / 3 x 140 / 1 x 160 / 1 x 180kg

Ok, so not my 1RM (200kg) but also not bad form either. Sure, Charlie did pick me up for a slightly rounded upper back and so that’s where I stopped. Could I have forced another 10kg, almost certainly but there would have been no point. Lifting such heavy weights without good form is not strength, it’s idiocy and I’ve been there before. Therefore, I am very happy with more than double bodyweight and good form.

MetCon

5 Rounds For Time:

  • 6 x Handstand Push Ups
  • 12 x Pull Ups
  • 24 x Overhead Lunges @ 15kg

Time: 10 min precisely

wp-1480539275109.jpg

First two rounds were unbroken throughout and I was exceptionally pleased; the handstand push ups were strict too. During the third round, the HSPU became 3 strict + 3 kipping, the pullups broke in to 8+4 while the lunges remained unbroken. The fourth round was well controlled with 2 x strict HSPU and 4 x kipping, the pull ups were 6+3+3 and the lunges 18+6. And then, during the fifth round, after 6 kipping HSPU, 6+6 Pull Ups and 20 x overhead lunges, the top of my thigh went, “POP”, I fell to the ground and felt a lump close to my hip. With 9:50 on the clock, I got back up and finished the last 4 overhead lunges before allowing myself to collapse back down. Ok, it was stupid, I know that. I just couldn’t let myself finish like that. As it was, I shortened the lunges and did no further damage.

screenshot_20161130-220151.png

Ice / Hot / Ice / Hot, rinse, repeat. Rest overnight, we’ll see how it is in the morning. Do as I say, don’t do as I do! In all honesty, dear readers, it’s fine. I didn’t push it and sitting here writing this, there is no pain, just a weird sensation – not a bad one though.

Do NOT put yourself at further risk like that. When your body tells you to stop, bloody well listen to it.

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

