Don’t let yourself Stop.

Remember why you Started.

Don’t Give Up.

Find a Way.

img_20161122_063500.jpg

This morning was the start of my new Snatch programme. I came up with it while listening to Barbell Shrugged in the car on the way back to London this weekend. With good overall form, I have been able to break the lift down in to just two phases, the Snatch Grip High Pull and the Snatch Balance. The third session in the week is a chance to put it together in to a full Snatch. In order to get high repetitions and time on the bar, as well as build strength, I’ve opted for some EMOM (Every Minute On The Minute), increasing weight from approx 70-90% 1 RM over 20 rounds, 2-3 reps each minute. Depending on whether or not I’m pushing Strength in that particular movement in the week or going for volume (flicking between the two each week), I’ll be controlling the weight accordingly. So we’ll see how that goes over the next few weeks. If nothing else, and I get the programming wrong, I’ll have had much more time under the bar and will have increased confidence.

AM Session – Snatch

EMOM 20

3 x Snatch Grip High Pull

  • 40 / 40 / 40 / 40 / 40
  • 45 / 45 / 45 / 45 / 45
  • 50 / 50 / 50 / 50 / 50
  • 55 / 55 / 55 / 55 / 55

Next week, I’ll start at 45kg.

 

CrossFit Watford 1930 Session

Sometimes you get the right mix of people in there and it clicks. Last night, Big Gary really pushed me in the Back Squats, not letting me relent for a second. Tonight. Harleigh faced off with her Australian grin and kept up the pace for me to race against, THANKS both of you!

Strength

3 x 3 Deadlift

120 / 140 / 160kg

I’m still waaaaaay off of my 200kg 1RM but it’s not something I’ve been focusing on at all and I’m content with this, to be honest. All reps were firm; Charlie was watching throughout and she’s not shy about picking me up for my form if it strays. I could have hit 165kg, perhaps 167.5kg for 3.

MetCon

Unbroken…..this was the aim tonight when I saw this:

5 Rounds For Time:

  • 5 x Cluster (Clean to Thruster) @ 42.5kg
  • 10 x Push Ups
  • 15 x Box Jumps @ 24″

Time: 6:55 Rx – Unbroken

As soon as I saw it, I told myself that I wasn’t going to break at all. I knew from recent Thruster WODs that I had the Clusters in the bag, confidence soaring there. The PushUps appeared to strain in the 2nd round for some reason but after that, it was plain sailing. I sped up on the box jumps at the end, almost coming unstuck but ultimately holding steady. Definitely my kind of workout! After a little despondency last week, and some clear mental imbalance, I was determined to really nail last night’s and this one. While I ended up with a good time and good lift, it was the manner in which I achieved them which has really got me buzzing this evening. Both have been high quality and that’ll continue this week.

20161122_202933.jpg

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

