Happier place. Good people. Strong Shout.

20161116_221249.jpg

Strength does not come from Winning. Your struggles develop your Strength. When you go through Hardships and decide not to Surrender, that is Strength.

– Schwarzeneggar

 

After the frustrations of last night, indeed of recent times generally, I entered the box this evening in a forcefully chirpy mood. Knowing how the athletes in the box respond to positivity in there, I was utterly determined not to undermine the good work I’ve done over the last 8 months, building up a reputation for motivation, especially now that I’m coaching. Ultimately, we’re all weaker at some things and stronger at others. Tonight’s workout was another example of that. It wouldn’t be CrossFit if I was good at it all….well it would but my name would be Matt Fraser!

wp-1479334087903.jpg

No, not praying; scaled handstand pushups!

Cheeky request – if you’ve got this far, could you do me a one-off favour and share the link to this page either on Twitter or Facebook? Pretty please? If you do, I’ll give you a shout out and a link in my next post!

CrossFit Watford 1930 Session

Watching the 1830 session finish, I was pumped and ready to get stuck in to this one.

For Time:

Buy-In – 100 Double Unders

5-10-15-20-25

  • Air Squats
  • Handstand Push Ups
  • Pull Ups

Cash Out – 50 Double Unders

Time: 20:25 Rx

About 18 months or so ago, I would have flown through the Handstand Pushups, probably largely unbroken too. Since then, I’ve not spent anywhere near enough time on HSPU but have utterly smashed the Butterfly Pullups! So while once I would have struggled with the pull ups, I flew through them today….but struggled on the HSPU! Still, that’s the beauty of this sport. The double unders were…tolerable. It took almost 2 mins for the 100 and not far off for the final 50!

But you know what? I really did enjoy myself through that one; not because is was any easier than last night (it really wasn’t) but because I just took it easy in my own head. There is no pressure except that which we bring upon ourselves. If I look at my journey over the last 5 years, I am RX’ing almost everything put in front of me now. That is a SIGNIFICANT achievement in itself. There are areas to work on but I know them and I can action them. I am happy, everything is going well.

But, if there’s one thing I think I need right now and the one thing my dad would be reminding me, it would be:

Cheerfulness in the Face of Adversity.

So, without further ado, I look forward to tomorrow night’s coaching session with enthusiasm…and a little mischief in mind.

4 Comments

  1. Hi John many thanks for the observations and pointers on techniques recently. I admit I’ve only just got round to the reading of your blogs and I have to say I’ll be making more time in the future truly inspirational I do have a request Gary would like to join and there doesn’t seem to be a share link as far as I can see . I’m sure you’d like to welcome The Gazza to your world so if you could send a link to the following you’ll have another eager crossfitter eagerly following see you in the next wod Top man.

    themarbleguys@yahoo.com

    Regards

    Mike.

    Like

Leave a Reply

