Back in the Coaching saddle. 6 weeks to Christmas.


Yes dear lovely reader world,  it’s less than 6 weeks to Christmas. That works out as about 4 good workout weeks before the fun starts, the wheels fall off, the late nights take over and the alcohol/tasty stuff creeps in.

So what? So, after a solid rest week last week, it is time to push through to the festive period and maximise every opportunity to become that little bit better than the day before.

Coaching. For the first time in 8 months (less a one off at CF Plymouth), I got to coach last week. Yep, I’m “back in”. Back on a coaching roster,  I got the Thurs 7.30pm slot, although I expect this to change to 6am Fridays soon. I won’t lie, I was nervous in preparation. It’s been a while and I feel like part of the daily crew in there. Now, it’s back to being in front, with a healthy degree of expectation and credibility required of me. Taking it slowly and need formally, we ran through a routine, beginning with my favourite ‘over / under Snake game’ and some Junkyard Dog before getting in to Farmer’s Carrys and Turkish Get Ups. Then it was in to the MetCon and before I knew it, the end. Ensuring everyone had at least 3-4 personal engagements, I tried to bridge that divide between being one of the athletes and being on the other side; it can be too easy to suddenly jump in to an authoritarian mode to compensate for your own nerves.

Overall, I think I handled that first one well and haven’t received anything negative yet. They’re a polite lot and the “thanks coach” calls were certainly appreciated your build back that confidence.

AM Strength

After 3 months of Squat programme, I’ve taken a break. I’ll come back to that in the New Year – the gains have been tangible and I’m happy with the progress.  With that in mind, it’s back to Olympic Lifting in the mornings for a while.

Cleans

  • 3 x 3 @ 60kg
  • 3 x 3 @ 70kg
  • 3 x 1 @ 80kg
  • 3 x 1 @ 85kg
  • 1 @ 90kg

It’s early, I’m stiff. It’s cold. I’m hungry. All reasons not to go above 85% in the mornings. I need a proper programme but today was about time on the bar and I’m happy.

CrossFit PM

wp-1479157858721.jpg

Strict Press – 5 x 60 / 5 x 65 / 4 x 70 – missed the last 1. Shame but some days it just don’t work!

MetCon – I enjoyed this. Short and sharp. 7 mins 52 for the first portion, plus 2 min rest, plus 1 min exactly for 25 Burpees. Total: 10:52. I perhaps went too hard on the rowing (2 min 7 secs) and then had little in the tank for the kettlebells. However, 25 burpees in a minute is a RECORD!

Nutrition

  • Pre-AM Strength: Banana
  • Breakfast: 2 x Scrambled Eggs on bed of Spinach and Rocket, 20g x PhD Diet Whey & 200ml Whole Milk
  • Lunch: Boots Meal Deal 😦 1 x Turkey & Cranberry Sandwich, 1 x Trek Coconut Protein bar, 1 x small carton Coconut Water.
  • Snacks: 1 x uFit Protein drink, Banana, 10g mixed Nuts
  • Dinner: Tub of leftover Roast Chicken dinner from yesterday 😀 😀 veggies, gravy….nomnomnom REAL FOOD!!!
  • Post-WOD: 20g PhD Diet Whey with 200ml Whole Milke

I’m unhappy with this. I’d intended for “simple and clean” before then remembering that I had a meeting in London to get to, right over lunch. I need to have something in the cupboard for little excursions like this.

Leave a Reply

