Coaching. De-load Week, not a Rest Week

A Coach helps you take yourself from where you are, to where you want to be.

Even if you don’t know where that is yet.

mountains

Yes, I made it through the hangover and in to the weekend without too much drama. I’m still here and have recovered nicely. The two days rest made a whole heap of difference. WE got out with the kids to the pool and had some fun in there as well as strolling around Plymouth; it’s a city I’ve really come to love. One small detraction is that I’ve had some kind of throat/nose infection since Thursday too and that is playing havoc with sleep, conversations and general hygiene around the place 😦 I’ve therefore not exactly been at my peak to start this week.

That said, it is a de-load week on my Squat Programme. It’s not a complete rest week, it’s something a little different. During the de-loading phase, I stop that which I have been training (not exercising). In my case, it’s the focused attention on the Squats, in order to give myself a rest and a chance to rebuild. I continue to conduct other general exercise but at perhaps a lower pace than usual and I try to avoid anything that might impinge on my glute/hamstring/quad recovery. It’s also a great opportunity to focus on mobility a little more and have a bit of fun with any work that I do put in. It’s also possible that over-training has led to my ‘sniffles’ so there is no harm in reducing the overall workload too and boosting the immune system with some Wellman Original.

On to Monday though!

20161010_191356.jpg

CrossFit Watford

On arrival, Charlie was back from her (and Hat’s) exotic journeys, looking decidedly Maldivian and in great spirits – good to have them back. Charlie offered me a job! I’d offered my services as a coach for one of the morning sessions each week and she took the time to think about it while away. Apparently, I am to start coaching again in the New Year. GREAT news! I have missed coaching and the athletes in CF Watford  are an awesome bunch. It also gets my sorry ass out of bed early in the morning just when the weather is getting cold.

Strength

5 rounds (for weight):

  • 5 x Hip Thrusters (Barbell Glute Bridge)
  • 5 x Waiter Carry (Kettlebell, entirely vertical) – 16kg

80 / 100 / 110 / 130 / 150kg

Stopping at 120kg last time, I quite easily ploughed on through 150kg on this occasion and indeed could have lifted 10-15kg more. I didn’t simply because it’s a de-load week and this movement specifically targets the glutes, hamstrings and calves.

MetCon

18min AMRAP

  • 15 x Box Jumps @ 24″
  • 12 x Shoulder to Overhead @ 50kg
  • 9 x Toes To Bar

Total: 7 rounds + 15 Box Jumps

Ok, so I’m competitive. There’s are some pretty solid all-round CrossFitters in the box and 1 or 2 in particular that I try to measure myself against. Getting in for the 1930 class, I could see one of them smashing out the rounds in the 1830 class. As soon as his score went up, I was on it and dialed-in. Typically, this guy beats me but I knew I might just have the edge in the shoulder work. Although I did take far too many small rest stops than I would otherwise have liked, I somehow managed to pull off 10 reps more than his score.

20161011_070300.jpg

Nutrition

  • Breakfast – 2 x Scrambled Eggs on Spinach/Rocket/Lettuce & Mustard
  • Lunch – 2 x Scrambled Eggs on leaves, 2 x slices Corned Beef, 2 x Gherkins
  • Snack – 10g mixed Nuts
  • Dinner – Spaghetti Bolognese (homemade, takeaway container size)
  • Post-WOD: 25g Whey Protein
  • Pre-Bed: 1min Microwave Protein Cake (dried milk powder instead of whey protein in order to get the slow-release caseine)

 

 

Leave a Reply

