Never Give Up Attitude & Top 30% Worldwide.

Strength doesn’t come from what you can do.

Strength comes from overcoming the things you once thought you couldn’t.

 

Good evening, legends, warriors and superheros! Yes, it’s been one of them days. It may not have started in the way I wanted but it ended on a high and I’ll shortly be tucking myself up under my Afghan blanket with tiredness pulling me down.

Yesterday’s post appears to have resonated extremely highly, perhaps because I chose to promote it on Facebook in a public forum where I don’t normally do it. While I won’t repeat that too often, it’s good to know there are some new readers out there – if you’re one of them, please do feel free to drop me a note at the bottom of the page!

img_20161004_063141.jpg

Gains Train

This was the instrument of my gains this morning, very specifically gains on Beyond The Whiteboard. Having languished in the high 60th percentile for all too long, I decided last night that it was time to overcome one of my critical weaknesses and pull myself up the global leaderboard. BTWB.com is an excellent resource that really does identify your strengths and weaknesses. In my case, my critical scoreboard weakness is in “Speed”. There are a few options to record speed work but it’s either sprint running or sprint rowing. In days gone by, I had an 11 sec 100m time…..but that was 20 years ago! These days, with crooked achilles and repeated ankle sprains, I steer clear of sprinting. So that only leaves the Concept II Rower. The distances on BTWB.com for “Speed” are 500m / 250m / 100m.

So it was that at 0630 this morning, I jumped on the rower, immediately realising that early mornings are not suited to a 100% maximal sprint, and pulled a pretty rotten 1min 40secs for a 500m. However! However, that 1 single effort lifted me from 68th percentile (ie: top 33% of CrossFitters worldwide, on average) to 70th – top 30%!! It’s a position I’ve not been in for a very long time and while I’ve seen increases in strength, light metcons, heavy lifting , long endurance and olympic lifting, my speed score has pulled me right down. Now, all I need to do is get back to a 1min 37sec time and I’ll be launched even higher!

I admit that I reattempted it but couldn’t better it. It’s all in the sprint technique; I have the technique mastered for mid-long distances but it’s the sprinting that is holding me back. If anyone in reader-land can assist, I would be VERY grateful and would repay you.

CrossFit Watford

Ok, I did get a sneak preview of today’s WOD. I won’t divulge my source but as soon as I saw it, I was over the moon. A MetCon made for me; I did go a little lighter on the strength portion than normal but I don’t want to jeapordise tomorrow morning’s Squat Programme. To be honest though, the long, slow, bendy warmup was almost harder than the WOD! I’m knackered just remembering it.

Strength

20161004_195628.jpg

Elevated, weighted lunges

  • A: 4 x 8 Elevated Weighted Lunges
  • B: 3 x 20 Banded Good Mornings

A: Bodyweight / 32kg / 32kg / 40kg – using 2 x kettlebells each time.

Increasing the hip mobility while extending the hamstring & glutes, this is a fantastic exercise but one I would urge some caution on – tomorrow there might be DOMS!

MetCon

For Time:

  • 800m Run
  • 5 Rounds of:
    • 5 x Pull Ups
    • 10 x Push Ups
    • 15 x Air Squats

Time: 6:51 Rx

My aim was unbroken and I achieved that. The 800m was ropey, coming in at 3:12 secs; my ankle is still sore and I knew I was pushing it but it held. I came in and jumped straight on the bar with no rest. From then on, it was completely unbroken; all pull ups were butterfly, dropping in to pushups, burpeeing up in to the first squat each time. Smash!

You’ll notice a few photos of the CrossFit Watford team over the next few days. I add them because I am truly inspired every time I walk in that box and see them. All ages, all disciplines, all motivations, all determined and all unflinching in the face of whatever Charlie puts up on that board. I’ve seen incredible changes in many of these guys (some are in the pictures above) although I know they don’t necessarily see it in themselves. I just thought I’d big them up a little.

img_20161004_203037.jpg

That’s me, last on the list.

Nutrition

  • Pre-WOD: 200ml Milk – not stinky this time!
  • Post-WOD: Scrambled eggs on lots of leaves, with some tomatoes.
  • Lunch: Chicken Wrap – yeah, I treated myself.
  • Snack mid-PM: 10g mixed Nuts.
  • Pre-WOD: 1min Microwave Cake (nut butter, coconut, dried milk powder and an egg).
  • Dinner: Mrs Nomad’s Mousaka.

Links

CrossFit Watford: https://www.facebook.com/Watfordcrossfit/

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

