Some days it just happens, while others…

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Forget Failure,

Forget Mistakes,

Forget Everything Except What You Are Going To Do Now.

And Do It.

 

wp-1474491558110.jpeg

You know when you wake up and you can just feel it ain’t gonna be your day? Yep, that was me today. After just a meagre 5 hrs sleep, for no reason that I can ascertain, I was wide awake at 0500, staring at the ceiling. Rolling over to see my phone notifications, I saw a GMail notification solidly standing in the top buffer of the screen. It was Ryderwear confirming that they loved the post and I could go live with it. “Brilliant!”, I thought and immediately began posting it to the groups on Facebook and Google+, tweeting it within Twitter…..at 0500. What a mistake. Everyone knows you post at 0700 for best effect. Sure enough, after a whole day of attempting to rectify my mistake, and after all the effort in the post, I achieved a whopping 16 unique visitors. Boom.

Anyway, I didn’t know that until now, at 2130.

Returning to staring up at the ceiling, I realised how dull that was and lept out of bed, trying hopelessly to generate some degree of energy. Putting the Tassimo on with a few Costa Americanos, the smell of coffee began to rouse me a little so I threw my kit on and wandered aimlessly to the gym for the morning Squat programme:

  • 6 x 2 Back Squat @ 105kg
  • 6 x 3 Front Squat @ 95kg
  • 6 x 2 Back Squat @ 105kg

This is an increase of 2.5kg compared to the first cycle but on Monday you’d have thought it was an extra 10! This morning I didn’t struggle so much but it was still a tremendous effort. It’s perhaps not surprising after I did achieve a 2.5 min Personal Record on “Murph” last night; no, not with weight and yes, partitioned (because that is all anyone has asked today).

Meandering through the day, the lack of sleep really caught up with me. I’m in a slightly different role now at work, with a lot more pressure and less time, and I felt it. I’m going to have to review my daily schedule to make things fit.

img_20160921_193302.jpg

No, I’m not in it. I’m the one taking the photo!

I was really looking forward to CF Watford this evening and when I got in, I was quite buoyed to see:

Strength

Deadlift

5-3-1 – test 1RM

140 / 160 / 180 – 190kg

Not a PR, but then am I likely to ever get 200kg again if I’m not specifically training for it? No.

MetCon

20min AMRAP (another long engine workout….)

  • 5 x Handstand Push Up
  • 10 x Pistols
  • 15 x Box Jumps @ 24″
  • 20 x Sit Ups (Ab Mat)

Total: 9 rounds plus 34

I got really upset at the end of this. I was very diligent in my counting, using my little metal ticker. I did think at one point that I might have accidentally clicked it twice and so when I saw “10” at the end, I was immediately content to round it down. However, when another guy, who did thrash me by at least 1.5 rounds only posted 9 + 16, I called him out. He did much better than that and because he beat me, I then had to take my score down.

Now, it it important?

Yes.

I am a 37 year old CrossFitter and I thrive on the competitive aspect of it. I don’t get to take part in weekend competitions these days (it’s just a fact of geography and work at the moment) and the chances are I never will again. I love challenging myself each day and getting as close to the younger members of the box as I can on the whiteboard. I hate doubting myself, especially when I KNOW I am in the right.

But hey, it’s only fitness, right?

2 Comments

  1. Oh boy, I’ve had those days too, when you feel like you just can’t move your body even though you’re trying hard. Ugh.
    One thing I’ve learned is NOT to check my notifications as soon as I wake up. It’s best to get up, and do other things (stretch, have breakfast, shower, whatever) before you check your phone. I didn’t believe it till I tried it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

