Iron legs, Jelly legs, Never Say Die!

It’s all about that first step. The next one will follow.

I didn’t write yesterday and for that I do apologise. Funnily enough, I had a great deal of feeling and motivation to write but simply ran out of time; I’m sure many of you understand that.

By way of quick summary, I woke with hamstrings of newly forged iron and goose-stepped around my room in hysterical fashion as I tried to get in to my kit and head to my mid-week squat session. If I hadn’t actually been me, feeling the pain and self-humiliation, I would have cried with laughter. After Diane the previous morning, and the Deadlifts the night before that, I was, to put it mildly, “in bits”. As I stumbled my shins in to the edge zombie-clipart-zombieof the bed’s metal frame, collapsing in a rage as I tried to pull my compression socks on, I was about a micro-second away from just pulling my duvet back over my head and hiding from the world in whatever position I found myself in. But I didn’t. No, it was you, the blogosphere, that kept me going once more.

I made it to the gym and only then realised that I’d had no food at all before attempting heavy squats. Genius. But I got through the warm up and pushed out the programme with a determination the likes of which I’ve not seen in myself since forcing myself to sit through Wales last loss to New Zealand! Back in my room, legs a jellied mess, I treated myself to a big bowl of Mrs Nomad’s homemade Chilli.

Yep. I did that.

Throughout the day, I did start to loosen off and so made it to CFW’s evening session to round off the day – 10 rounds of 1min Rowing (for cals), 1min Burpee Box Step Overs and 1min Rest. WHAT?!?!? I ‘performed’ 292 reps in total, consistently managing 20 cals on each row. It was brutal.

And then I slept.

Well.

 

I woke this morning to a really quite fantastic email from a company called Ryderwear.co.uk with a potential offer to review some of their stash. More to follow on that one, dear readership. Exciting stuff though!

No PT this morning, just delicious slumber until 0700 – a beautiful lay-in by regular standards. Oh, hamstrings aren’t quite as bad today, no comedy face-plants in to the door or anything.

2016-09-08-21.18.36.jpg.jpeg

CrossFit Watford

Almost more than my own workout, I absolutely love motivating others through theirs. Seeing people in the last throws of a 20 min epic (again), finding the strength to push out 1, 2, 3 more reps before the clock stops ticking. It truly inspires me to push myself through the line as hard as I can. I saw it tonight from a legend known only as, “Abdur” and it really reminded me of my favourite childhood adventure film, “The Goonies”.

Goonies.jpg

CFW Strength

Bulgarian Split Squats

3 x 8 (per leg)

48kg (2 x 24kg KB). I’ve done this before at this weight and was happy to jump straight to it. The problem was, it completely drained me for the epic, aerobic, engine building MetCon.

MetCon

“The 100”

For Time:

  • 100 x Box Jumps @ 24″
  • 100 x Air Squats
  • 100 x Shoulder to Overhead @ 35kg
  • 100 x Double Unders

Time: 16:52 Rx

Paced, steady and regular. That was my mantra throughout. All box jumps unbroken; jump up, step down, repeat immediately, no pause. All Air Squats unbroken; up, down, repeat. Shoulder to Overheads were in 10s throughout with only 5-7 sec pause maximum each time. Double Unders….were my weakness today. My ankle has not recovered well enough and I stumbled through those. However, I took it calm and steady.

Final Squat session of this cycle tomorrow morning, no workout tomorrow night and then a fun one on Saturday before flying out to Texas! CF Lackland, here I come!

Nutrition

By and large, I have been very successful sticking to a ‘clean’, homemade, simple diet while living up here. Since summer leave 2 weeks ago, I have seen body fat fall away very rapidly and have maintained energy levels despite the extra training. It’s not perfect, there is room for improvement and I am tempted to begin investigating the Zone plan in order to refine my requirements.

  • Breakfast: 50g sliced Beef wrapped around a handful of spinach/rocket/chard. 200ml Whole Milk. 10g Mixed Nuts. Some Cherry Tomatoes.
  • Snack: 10g Mixed Nuts and about 5g chocolate covered Sunflower Seeds – yeah, I know. Stop it.
  • Lunch: 50g sliced Beef wrapped around leaves. 200ml Whole Milk. 10g Mixed Nuts. Some Cherry Tomatoes. Banana.
  • Snack: 10g Mixed Nuts.
  • Post-WOD: 25g MyProtein Impact Whey
  • Dinner: Homemade Beef Moussaka, broccoli, carrots, cauliflower – that Mrs Nomad does look after me!

Links

Ryderwear.co.uk – Do take a look, there’s some really top stuff on there and they have reduced items too!

Diane on Tuesday

 

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

