Follow the Prog, Rest Up, Get Strong, Mr Average!

“If you want to hoot with the Owl, you must be able to soar with the Eagle”

 

Good day to you, awesome readership! Did you have a great weekend? Are you stronger than when you ended last week? What did you get up to?

I departed here on Friday, hoping to get in some open water swimming and some moderate hill climbing in north Devon. However, tides inhibited the former while the weather destroyed chances of the latter. Instead, it was a restful weekend of great family, friends and food. The quote I’ve put up this morning, above, comes from my Dad. Well, I remember him repeating it repeatedly throughout my childhood but suspect he got it from somewhere else. Still, it’s “my Dad’s quote”. What it means is that if you wish to hang out all night partying and getting in the fun then expect to put the hours of reparation back in in the morning. Certainly, it’s something I’ve always stuck to, most recently on Friday when I put in the squat work after a night out.

And it’s a good thing I did. Starting Week 3 of the weightlifting101.net programme this morning, I was a little apprehensive if truth be told.

 

20160905_061436.jpg

Well, I guess Summer is over! It was a great one though so I can’t complain.

 

AM Strength Programme

  • 6 x 2 Front Squat @ 92.5kg
  • 6 x 6 Back Squat @ 102.5kg
  • 6 x 2 Front Squat @92.5kg
20160905_065152.jpg

92.5kg Front Squats

Trundling over in the rain this morning, I was concerned over the 6 x 6. I really had to dig in last week for the 6 x 5 Back Squats and didn’t know how I would fare today. Answer? SMASHED IT! On getting through the first of the 6 x 6, I knew I had it covered today and was able to calm it down slightly. This gives me huge confidence that after a week in USA next week (Texas, baby!), which also happens to be a ‘de-load’ week, I’ll be able to up the weight slightly for the next phase.

CrossFit Watford PM Session

It’s funny, you start the day well and then by the end you’re feeling distinctly…..average. meh. bleugh.

The evening session started off relatively ok with:

3 x 5 Deadlift

130 / 140 / 150 kg

Not my heaviest 5 RM but then we only had about 5 mins to get up to weight before attempting them. Ordinarily, I would spend at least 30 mins on Deadlifts before attempting a heavy set.

MetCon

Partner WOD

  • Buy-In: 150 x Box Jumps

Then

50-40-30-20-10

  • Thrusters (35kg)
  • Pull Ups

Then

Cash Out: 150 x Wall Balls

I was paired with a relative newbie and I should have insisted he scale the weight to 30kg or lower. As a result, I ended up doing 10s for his 5s and he was forced to take a long break each time. Consequently, we didn’t reach the Wall Balls at all and I left with that ‘meh’ feeling. I shouldn’t have done, he gave it his all and really got a lot out of it but it was one of those days where I left thinking, “ok…..what’s next?” and that hasn’t happened for a very long time. I conducted all Thrusters in 10s and most of the Pull Ups in 10s apart from the very last set where I did 5 so that my partner was able to do some too. (I’m so generous).

img_20160905_192249.jpg

Not me but some of the many CF Watford warriors.

Nutrition

  • Pre-WOD: Banana
  • Breakfast: Muesli with whole milk and 25g MyProtein Impact Whey
  • Snack: 10g Mixed Nuts
  • Lunch: Cherry Tomatoes, 90g Sliced Chicken, Apple, Grapes
  • Snack: 10g Mixed Nuts
  • Pre-WOD: Coconut Water and a pressed fruit bar
  • Post-WOD: 25g MyProtein Impact Whey
  • Dinner: 3 x Boiled Eggs, Coleslaw, 2 x Chicken Legs, some Grapes

Links

Weightlifting101.net Squat Programme

 

4 Comments

  1. I’m so glad you advocate drinking whole milk – I’ve come across so many people who eat ‘paleo’ since starting crossfit who think milk is the devil’s poison (especially whole milk). It’s so full of nutrients and is great as a quick recovery drink until you can get some quality food down you after a workout. It’s nice to see a fellow crossfitter who gives it the thumbs up 🙂

    Like

  2. Milk is good for you.

    Anyone who follows a particular diet just because the crowd is doing it is an idiot. Yes, pure paleo has its own signifcant benefits and I would love to be able to follow such a diet but paleolithic man was not conducting high-intensity functional fitness. Neither did he have my day job, my time pressures and stresses. He ate what was available to him on a seasonal basis and from what was in front of him. He didn’t eat 3 meals a day, nor meat every day. Indeed, he was mainly a plant-eater, supplementing as and when he could get meat.

    Milk works for me. I like it and I feel good from drinking it. I maintain bodymass, stay functional, feel full and there are no negative symptoms. It might not be suitable for everyone but it works for me.

    ESPECIALLY after a CF session!!

    Thanks for dropping by, love your work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

