Sweating out the Guinness….with Squats!

“There may be people that have more talent than you, but there’s no excuse for anyone to work harder than you do.”

I spent last night out in Earl’London with a friend I’ve known for about 22 years. I rarely get out for beers, mostly through choice, but the chance to catch up with this Dane, who practically became my third sister over the course of our school career, was not to be passed up. Her husband is over here with his MBA study group and we took the opportunity to grab a beer (4) for the first time in a very, very long time. We laughed, ate and drank London-priced Guinness, and caught up on years of chat.

14064062_10154229196176321_5996493012071770973_n

Top Tip for a good night out: actually read the menu. This wasn’t the “Spicy Mexican Burger” that I thought it was. There was a “V” next to it on the menu that I somehow failed to see.

By 2230, I had to head back to the Underground to catch my train all the way back out. Somewhat wobbly, I got off at my stop and phoned for a cab……20 mins…….so I did what I think we’ve all tried to do at some point while a little “not sober”.

I ran.

20160901_235428.jpg

yeeeeeeeeeah……..to be fair, it was only just over a mile but still………

Crawling in to my bed at midnight, my “still not sober” self couldn’t see a problem with setting the alarm for 0600 to get up and complete this week’s squat programme work.

At 0600, I could see every bloody problem with setting my alarm for that time!!!

But still, I rolled on to the floor, pulled my kit towards me and octopus’d (it’s a new verb) my way in to my clothes. Somehow I was able to figure out how to open a banana and wolfed it down with a litre of water.

20160902_065735.jpg

I think the focus of this picture is pretty spot on for my occular focus during the workout generally! 😀 But I completed the work. Week 2 of Weightlifting101.net’s strength programme done.

Leave a Reply

