Just get…over…that…Hump Day. And why is my dad in my head?

Everything you Need is Already Inside

It’s Wednesday. This week started on a Tuesday yet still I feel like the weekend is too far away. Like the squatting this morning and just getting…one…more….lift, this week feels like just getting….through….Wednesday…the Hump Day. I guess it’s a symptom of having had such an amazing summer holiday, then supreme Bank Holiday weekend. You want to hold on to that feeling; with luck, we’ve got a BBQ weekend (and more open water swimming) on a farm this weekend (obviously not swimming on a farm, that would look a little odd and perhaps not achieve the gains I’m hoping for).

AM Squat Programme

  • 6 x 4 Back Squat @ 102.5kg
  • 6 x 2 Front Squat @ 92.5kg
  • 6 x 5 Back Squat @ 102.5kg

After last night’s Thrusters, I knew this would feel harder than on Monday; so it transpired. But a strange motivational message has begun creeping in to my head recently and I’m trying to figure out where it came from. I see an image of my dad in my mind and know that he always wanted me to achieve all I could…to be the best I ever could be. Unlike common motivational techniques / quotes / events (Olympics 2016, anyone!!) that can be powerful but relatively short-lived, this appears to have a lower ‘burn’ but longevity; it’s sticking with me. It’s been pushing me harder through WODs and lifting recently. I suspect it came from a chat with the Little Nomads about how we only want what’s best for them and to see them succeed in whatever they are passionate about. Wherever it has come from, “Thanks Dad, I miss you buddy.”

wp-image-921517389jpg.jpeg

CrossFit Watford

Strength

6 x 2 Dead Stop Front Squats (As Heavy As Possible)

60 / 80 / 90 / 92.5 / 97.5 / No Time

A Dead Stop Front Squat begins in the bottom of the squat under the bar that will be stable on boxes either side. You set yourself up under the bar and then drive up and out. This entirely removes any kind of rebound that you get in a regular squat and focuses on brute force leg strength / power. To achieve 2 x 97.5 is no mean feat, especially after my squat programme this morning.

MetCon

A cheeky session!

8 mins Ascending Ladder – 2, 4, 6, 8, 10……

  • Burpees
  • Toes To Bar

Rest

6 mins Ascending Ladder – 2, 4, 6, 8…….

  • Hand Release Push Ups
  • Sit Ups (Ab Mat)

105 Reps for the 8 mins set and 129 Reps for the 6 mins set. I was happy with neither; the Toes To Bar slowed me right down. It’s clear that I’ve not done TTB in a while but need to factor that kind of thing in…Muscle Ups too….there is a lack of higher end (for CrossFit) gymnastic work at the moment. I can’t focus on everything though and increasing strength is the priority. The HR Push Ups slowed me down in the second set but they’re just nasty! 😀

Nutrition

  • Pre-WOD: Banana – I have found that I need the sugar burst in order to lift at this time of the morning.
  • Breakfast: Bowl of Lidl Muesli (the blue one) with 200ml Whole Milk, 1 x egg and 25g MyProtein Impact Whey
  • Snack: Apple
  • Lunch: Lidl 180g Chicken Breast slices (and some HP sauce), a few white grapes and 2 x cherry tomatoes.
  • Snack: Primal Bar (Macadamia and Coconut)
  • Post-WOD: 25g MyProtein Impact Whey
  • Dinner: Tin of Tuna / Naked Thai Noodles / 120g Butter Beans in Tomato Sauce and Kale

The way I felt going in to CFW this evening, I knew I’d got my nutrition wrong today. I had very little energy and what I had was taken up by the Front Squats well before the MetCon. I’ll have a think about this.

 

 

Leave a Reply

