Back to Work, Bank Holiday Weekend, Injury, Fitness Throughout

Get Knocked Down.

Jump Back Up.

20160826_172345.jpg

My last post was about my injury and pushing on regardless. Since then I’ve been icing my ankle, heating it up, icing it, heating and strapping it. I’ve maintained my squat programme in the mornings (even on Bank Holiday Monday) and that’s going pretty damned well so far.  That said, it’s not healed and neither should it have done by now. I’ve learned a lot about the benefits of patience; I am 37 though so perhaps there’s a case to be argued that I’ve been pretty thick skinned, stubborn and a bit dim!!

Team NomadCelt had a truly fantastic Bank Holiday weekend in London, 5 of us doing the tourist thing on an ‘Original Bus Tour’ for 2 days, eating sweets, walking in the rain, searing in the city heat, visiting the landmarks, playing in parks……. Not to be seen as the lazy one round here though,  I didn’t welch on the Nomadic fitness! (I did go in to Lillywhites and buy myself an ankle support though!! – oh, and some swimming ear plugs and a bright green swimming hat – videos to follow this coming weekend!)

 

Check out my Twitter page at: www.twitter.com/nomadiccrossfit or my YouTube Channel at: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCS9nRq9E0iv8nVG5CrsfVAg  – if the videos above don’t work.

 

20160827_131612.jpg

Anyway, on to this week, “Stop Boring Me!” I can hear you cry out!

Yep, yesterday morning I was up at 0600 for Week 2 of my Squat Programme (3 mornings a week):

  • 6 x 4 Back Squat @ 102.5kg
  • 6 x 2 Front Squat @ 92.5kg
  • 6 x 5 Back Squat @ 102.5kg

No Sh!t, squat programmes are HARD! I love that feeling, knowing there’s another set coming and each set takes everything I’ve got. I love that feeling, walking out and back to my room for breakfast, having to force my legs in to regular, non-jelly walking motion. This is going to work and I LOVE IT!

On to today though and I was going to get up at 0600 but decided to let my ankle rest; the thousands of steps walking around London over the weekend (Mrs Nomad FitBit’d it) put a bit of a strain on my ankle and it needed a break.

Not for long though! Out to CF Watford tonight for:

Strength

Yoke Farmer’s Walk 4 x 25m

120 / 140 / 150 / 180kg

I walked 25m with 180kg! Hell yeah! Love it!

MetCon

4 Rounds for Time:

  • 10 x Pull Ups
  • 15 x Thruster @ 42.5kg
  • 200m Run
  • 25 x KB Swing @ 24kg
  • 2 min Rest

Time: 19:39 Rx

I had to take it relatively easy on the run, which was annoying, but I tried to make up for it with completely unbroken rounds. I almost made it too but the Thrusters in round 4 were cut up in to a 9 and a 6. I feel like I let myself down a bit but I know it’s not the case.

More squatting tomorrow morning…….can’t wait!!

Nutrition

I only mentioned this because it has been laughable, as you can imagine with summer holidays and then a superb bank holiday weekend. Fear not, fellow bloggers and readers, it’ll be back on the clean eating wagon now. More to follow.

Leave a Reply

