Summer Hols Week 1 – France, Beach XFit Comp, Illness, Lot of Stairs

Fit is not a destination, it is a Way of Life.

“Throughout, I’ll be maintaining fitness through load carries,  strongman type work, bodyweight exercises and combinations of all.” Those were the words I finished on in my last post (Here). It was my intention to take what I could find around me throughout my summer holiday period, throw it around many times (“Moving large loads, long distances, quickly” – sound familiar?) and blog it. Finishing last Thursday with olympic lifting work in Crystal Palace, I was therefore mega eager to get back on it as soon as possible once I hit the French turf.

IMG_9780

Warming up with some squats, situps and push ups

No sooner had we arrived in our holiday cottage in Ploneour-Lanvern (Brittany) on Saturday 30 Jul and hit the beach at Pointe De La Torche did I find there to be a beach ‘Cross Training’ Competition on the go! As part of some wider festivities, “BigoudBox” (see their Facebook page here) had laid on a huge fitness extravaganza on the beach for all-comers. Formerly a CrossFit gym themselves, they have since decided to rebrand and de-affiliate due to the (as they see it) prohibitively high affiliate costs and poor return that they receive from CrossFit; there’s a lot to be said for that but perhaps that’s for another post. However, they appear to be quite ‘the shit’ in that town and had free reign to run a massive event on a public beach on 02 Aug. Whatever the massive event was though, it was pre-empted by a ‘Cross-training’ competition a few days before but they were extremely short of volunteers. So, for all the beaches on the west coast of Brittany that we could have go to, we ended up on the the one with a CrossFit event! Boom! Sure enough, wearing nothing but jeans with rolled up legs, I said (in really bad French) that I was keen to take part. The organisers took pity on me and threw me a pair of shorts.

IMG_9784

So, barefooted, in someone else’s shorts and having not slept on the ferry across, the WOD was:

15min AMRAP

  • 10 x Kettlebell Swing (2 x 16kg KB)
  • 10 x Burpee
  • 100m Run (over soft white sands)

Total (and winning score!): 8 rounds + 25

Yeah, I only went and won the bloody thing – and RX+ too! (out of 3 people!) The others had a single kettblebell but when I stupidly told the organiser that I was a CF Trainer, he handed me another kettlebell (dick! 😉 ) We had slept very little the night before on the ferry, having foolishly thought the reclining chairs actually reclined (I mean, that’s what it actually says in the room the chairs are in!!) and we were all pretty worn out but this was just the perfect start to the holiday! Things were definitely looking up right from the off!! 😀

IMG_9783

And then I got ill with a chest cold and spent 5 days coughing my lungs up with green gunk.

Not to be completely undone though, Team Nomad did have an awesome time in France and still managed a great deal of active adventures, including climbing the 285 steps to the top of the lighthouse in Penmarc’h, the “Phare D’Eckmuhl”.

20160802_17411120160802_174740

9 Comments

Leave a Reply

