Squats, Bodyweight Blast. Thruster Power!

The Pain You Feel Today Will Be The Strength You Feel Tomorrow

 

20160310_070023.jpg

Op SUNSHINE

Still maintaining a far more positive outlook with workmates and, more especially, Mrs Nomad. Sure, there are challenges especially as we come up to holiday time but it’s got to be all positive really. I mentioned a high degree of negative self-talk during last night’s WOD but this is not true really. There was simply inaction despite a lot of positive self-talk. Ie: I was telling myself to move but not really willing it. Tonight, I went the other way and really pushed myself despite having done 6 WODs in 3 days and feeling the fatigue 😀 If there is anything getting me down a little, it’s this blog really. Considering how much time and effort I put in to it, the readership is extremely low on average (approx 15) and the engagement is even lower. I’ve worked on it through engaging directly with blogging forums, commenting and following others, significantly increasing my Twitter followers….my only conclusion is that I really don’t have much to say that people want to hear. Yesterday’s blog was one of those that I thought would have resonated strongly but apparently not. Still, it is holding me to account and forcing me to continue training so hard and that was the original intent. And to cheer myself up I phoned the one person who can always cheer a boy up…..his Gran.

Morning Session

In Sept, I shall be starting the Squat Strength programme from http://www.weightlifting101.net/strength-cycles/ . This morning, I tried out Week 1 in order to look at timings. It would seem that I need to get out of bed at 6, not mess about about just get straight in to the gym for no later than 0615!

@80% 1RM

6 x 2 Front Squat (97.5kg)
6 x 2 Back Squat (107.5kg)
6 x 2 Front Squat (97.5kg)

The programme calls for 6×3 of the Back Squats but I misread it and didn’t realise until after. As it is, early morning squats are HARD, especially in such a compressed time. Hitting 80% of 1RM is extremely difficult and I have a lot of confidence that this programme is going to significantly improve my squat strength simply by the way I feel now, some 3 hours later (knackered!).

 Evening Session @ CrossFit Watford

Strength

3 x 3 Thruster @ 70/80/90% of 1RM

My only recorded 1RM for a Thruster was 85kg but I suspect it is more now:

60/70/80kg

I am very pleased with this, especially as I was sharing the bar with 2 others and didn’t really have much time to go higher. There was easily 85kg in there.

MetCon

Chipper

  • 25 x Box Jumps @24″
  • 30 x Pull Ups
  • 50 x Ab Mat Sit Ups
  • 80 x Double Unders
  • 800m Run
  • 80 x Double Unders
  • 50 x Ab Mat Sit Ups
  • 30 x Pull Ups
  • 25 x Box Jumps @ 24″

Time: 15:55 Rx

Fastest time of the day from the non-competitor crew in CF Watford (I LOVE this place, I’m not sure I’ve said that enough). Long chipper bodyweight is definitely my strength and has become stronger. This is why in Sept I’ll be focusing on Power Lifts, specifically Squats, to increase overall strength as that is my glaring area of weakness (and rowing sprints, of course).

Nutrition

Pre-AM Session: 10g mixed nuts, 200ml Coconut Water – hydrated and just enough carbs/protein to kick off the metabolism.

Breakfast / post-AM Session: 1 x Egg, 25g MyProtein Impact Whey (Choc), tsp Peanut Butter, 2 x tbsp. Gluten Free Oats, 50ml While Milk – mix it up, put it all in a microwave for 1 min. Lovely! Great balance of protein and carbs to rapidly assist muscle recovery and glycogen replenishment.

Snack at 1000hrs: 10kg mixed nuts – a little protein, carbs and fats to keep metabolism ticking over.

Lunch: 180g Tuna, lots of Leaves, 20g nuts, chilli oil – high protein boost to avoid ‘bonk’ in the afternoon. Lots of fibre, a little carbs and fats.

Mid-PM Snack: Banana & Boiled Egg (not together, that would be minging) – Carbs and Protein in preparation for the evening WOD.

Post-WOD: 25g MyProtein Impact Whey + 25g Dried Skimmed Milk Powder – Whey protein for rapid muscle recovery, casein for slower recovery overnight.

Dinner: 250g homemade Chilli and loads of whole milk

 

That’s all for today. If you made it this far, what is your least favourite bodyweight movement? I go to France soon and will happily use it in a few WODs that I shall then post online on my return.

 

All the best!

Leave a Reply

