Op SUNSHINE (Positivity Reset), #MondayMotivation and a Personal Record

Left foot, right foot. Repeat. Simple.

20160310_070023.jpg

Operation SUNSHINE

a new dawn

 

Op SUNSHINE

If there’s one specific area that needs work, the one thing that if resolved would spark a genuine change revolution in my life, it is my positivity – or current lack thereof. Over time, I have become a quite pessimistic and cynical guy. I know this and routinely try to curb the sharper, more extreme elements of it, especially from my children. I think the world in general is a bit like this; we just let things get on top of us. However, it’s just got that bit too overwhelming for me now. It’s time for genuine change. I’m noticing it more and more in my everyday exchanges with others. It’s as though I’m trying to bring people down to my low ebb to struggle along with me – and this is exceptionally selfish behaviour.

It was during a TED Talk podcast yesterday that I decided it was time for an overhaul. It was the realisation that the world would be just that little bit better for those who I chat to each day if I wasn’t such a sarcastic, negative git sometimes. Sure, the world can be a shitty place (I was sat in yet more static traffic on the M25 motorway at the time) and there are plenty of things to get all negative over but actually my world has far more going for it than not. We had a BBQ this weekend with Mum and the family. It was a great event, albeit our first without Dad (we raised more than one drink to him though!). We regaled stories of him, and we were all so happy to talk about him.  Flashes of recent conversations with Mrs Nomad, with work colleagues and with friends all surged through my mind; conversations where I have lowered the mood with a complaint, grumble, sombreness. When I review those particular conversations, I realise that there is just no need for it at all! I’ve merely tried to steer a conversation to a lower mood in order to validate my own poor mindset. It’s not always like it but regular readers of this blog (*chuckle…..regular readers…..chuckle*) will have seen my negative self-talk over the months. This only hinders training and development.

Well, no more.

As of now, I am setting myself my biggest challenge yet – Op SUNSHINE.

30 Days of Positivity.

I’m told that it only takes 21 days of change to form a habit. Well, I intend going further than that; I have 30-odd years to undo! 😉 Each day, I will post a SUNSHINE Index of what made me happiest on that day. You will notice a change in the way I talk about my workouts, the successes therein and the development opportunities that they present. As a coach, how can I expect to positively coach others with a subconscious negative bias? As a father, how can I lead our team and develop our children to be optimistic, positive and successful if all they see is negativity. More importantly, if I am to support Mrs Nomad as a strong, supportive, loving husband then it has to come from a foundation of positive, buoyant action and not negative, selfishness.

So here goes!

Today’s #FlashWod

2016-07-11-12.24.52.jpg.jpeg

Morning WOD

A great night of sleep last night, enabled by a bit of Mindfullness practice, resulted in me practically leaping out of bed this morning and in to my kit. A quick handful of mixed nuts (15g), a bottle of water and I was over to CrossFit NWD for some Clean work. The stereo is broken, with the volume stuck on “EAR SMASH” loud, so it was with ringing of Muse “Unsustainable” in my ears that I began:

5 x 1 Clean + Front Squat

80 / 80 / 85 / 85 / 85kg

Warming up with Burgener Warm Up and 60 / 60 / 60 / 60 / 60 kg, I was very pleased with this. Still remaining at no more than 85% 1RM, I could have gone heavier but kept it there. 80kg is my new ‘working weight’.

5 x 1 Hang Clean + Front Squat

70 / 80 / 80 / 85 / 85kg

Dropping to 5 x 1 @ 70kg, I quickly ramped up to 85kg. Again, this could have been 90kg but I intentionally kept it at 85kg for form.

Evening WOD

Strength

3 x 3 Bench Press

15 x 60kg, 5 x 80kg, 3 x 85kg , 3 x 92.5kg, 3 x 97.5kg – a new 3 Rep Max by 10kg!!

The calculator at http://strengthlevel.com/ predicts my 1RM to be 103kg which is pretty much what I’ve been working towards anyway. I hope to achieve 105kg later this week.

 

MetCon – Gymnastics, Speed and Coordination

3 RFT:

  • 25 x Double Unders
  • 12 x Burpees
  • 400m Run

Time: 8:33 Rx

I set myself the target of unbroken everything and I managed it. The burpees were proper, full burpees with no stepups or step downs. I did slow down slightly on the last round which I then had to make up on the run. However, I gave it almost 100% throughout. A great little WOD there.

Nutrition

  • Pre-WOD Snack: 15g Mixed Nuts
  • Breakfast: Peanut Butter Choc Protein Cake (1 x egg, 25g choc whey protein, 1 tbs crunchy peanut butter, 0.5 tbs coconut oil – 1 min microwave), 2 slices Chicken + tonnes of leaves.
  • Lunch: 3 x Chicken Slices with leaves. 1 x Egg, 200ml Whole Milk. 15g Mixed Nuts.
  • Snacks: 3 x 10g mixed Nuts
  • Post-WOD: 25g Whey Protein, 25g Dried Skimmed Milk Powder
  • Dinner: BBQ Leftovers!! 1 x 8oz Burger, 1 x 97% Pork Sausage and 1 x Lamb Kofta, plus LOTS of leaves, some sundried tomatoes and fresh, homegrown chillis.
  • Drinks: a tonne of coffee and lots of whole milk.

 

SUNSHINE INDEX – Day 1

Far more positive start to the day with colleagues. V. upbeat, purposefully engaging over ‘weekend chat’. Made a big effort to not reply to anything with a jokey grumble but to be very positive. Who knows, perhaps this bled over in to the session this evening and helped me achieve my new scores!

 

Links

Mindfulness: https://youtu.be/qzR62JJCMBQ

6 Comments

  1. Awwwww! Mrs Nomad’s comment really made me smile.

    I think you’re right, we do let things get on top of us. Lord knows, I’m super pessmistic and angry these days and everyone used to say I was sunny.

    Like

  2. I’m the opposite to you, I’m always positive and optimism is my best friend. Yet, I’m paraplegic (recent) with two disabled children and one mentally ill adult child. People ask me why I don’t get depressed and I reply, I don’t have the time. What’s the point in being grumpy you don’t get anywhere. We all have our down times, you have to experience bad or the happy doesn’t make sense. So, well done you for realising that it’s better to be positive, and the very best of luck on operation Sunshine. One tip, nothing make you feel happier than making someone else happy. Just look at how Mrs Nomad comments made you fell, I bet that made her feel good too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

