Annie awakes, Thrusters and Burpees to Bed

 With travel looming for the next two weeks, it’ll be a disrupted picture that I’ll be painting. That in mind, the morning session was all the more important, just in case there are limited options later.

It certainly didn’t make me feel any better while pulling myself from the comfort of my Afghan bed bed sheet though. I love that thing. …..very thin but knitted of fine wool and silk. Extremely ornate too. I got it all the way back in 2004 during my first Afghanistan tour for the princely sum of about $20 US. It’s the perfect cover for me during the summer, especially as I have such a high radiating body temp.

Annie

No, not this Annie, although well done in the Euro  football!!

This Annie.

50-40-30-20-10 For Time:

  • Double Unders
  • Sit Ups

Time: 6:56 – second fastest time ever. Happy. Stumbled on the 50s and on the 20s, once a piece. What do you expect at that time of the morning!? Coordinating arms and legs at speed, at 0645 should really get me a medal, I reckon. 

CF Watford for the evening, sneaking in to the 1830 class as I have to be in bed early tonight.

Strength

Push Jerk

5-3-1

5 x 70 / 3 x 80 / 1 x 90 / 1 x 95kg

Direct overhead is always a strength. I attempted 100kg but failed. Next time, Gadget! Next Time! Working our weaknesses is what we are about but isn’t it great to have fun with things we’re good at πŸ™‚

MetCon – Absolutely minging!

Partner WOD

  • 150 x Thrusters (42.5kg)
  • 5 x Synchro Burpees on the Minute

Time: 18:36 – Rx was 60kg. I started strongly with 60kg, managing sets of 10 but after 25, I faded and rapidly changed to 42.5kg. The Burpees were the hardest part. I let the WOD get to me and just gave in, really. It was a bit pathetic, me floundering on the floor like some half-chewed flatfish. Still, it was 18+ mins of effort and I tried to make up for it on the Thrusters, never doing less than 4 with the 42.5, mostly 5s and 6s.

Sugar

Give…..me…..Suggaaaaaaaaarrrrrrr………….. No sugar today, which explains some of the poor performance above but also my grouchiness generally today. 

Well-Being

Miss my Dad today. Not sure what sparked it but it brought me down. Got back back to my room and laughed at a few photos of him. 

Travel
I’m writing this on my phone, sat in Terminal 2 at London Heathrow, heading out out to Istanbul for a conference. It is 0500 and I’ve been up for two hours hours already. The restaurant in front of me is….just. ….about….to open. 

Bacon. Eggs. Coffee. 

5 Comments

  1. ugh, I know all about sugar withdrawal. I’ve had a little too much sugar lately, and I haven’t had any for the last couple of days….and I have withdrawal syndrome! lol πŸ™‚ Fortunately, I know it will go away soon. Have a great trip!

    Like

Leave a Reply

