5km Row to Start…..Fatigue to Finish

Up. Awake!

 

20160623_062553.jpg

Raining….pouring…….

Gym floor being relaid…..no barbells 😦

Concept 2 in the corner, all alone. 5km for Time? Sure, let’s do this.

19:42.

From a cold start, first 1km was a bitch to try and get mobile at 0630hrs but once in to it I brought the average back down to 1:59  / 500m. With a half decent warm up, this would have been at least 10s faster overall. Technique very good throughout, nice ‘relatively smooth’ power curve from start to finish – I love that tool, you can’t hide poor technique with that firing back at you. It might not have been a record (19:27) but still, happy to have just jumped on and smashed that out!

After getting the WOD from CF W’s head coach, Charlie, I was actually looking forward to it. It wasn’t long after I got started warming up that I realised how beat up I am this week; Not Every Day Is A PR Day!

van-wilder-large

“Write that down.”

Strength

It was supposed to be Overhead Squats but we don’t have any bars in our military gym at the moment while the floor is being refurbished…so……

Deficit Handstand Pushups (Strict)

5 x 2″ / 5 x 3″ / 5 x 4″ / 4 x 5″ / 4 x 6″ / 3 x 7″ / 3 x 8″ / 2 x 9″ / 1 x 10″

A 10″ Strict Deficit Handstand Pushup. See, I was quite pleased with this until I checked Beyond The Whiteboard. That’s a 36th percentile score!!! Balls! I told you though, I am fatiguuuuuuuued. Shoulders are shot after yesterday’s Max Effort Push Ups and Bar Over Burpees.

777806776_o

Skill

Tabata Double Unders (20 secs on, 10 sec rest, 8 times = 4 mins)

Total 160. This is some 65 off my previous best. Shoulders and core are pretty damned tired today.

 

Conditioning – Gymnastics, plain and simple

7 min AMRAP

  • 7 x Pull Ups
  • 7 x Push Ups
  • 7 x Toes To Bar

Total: 6 rounds plus 7.

Everything fell apart here. After the 5km this morning and a big effort this week, I’m feeling just a little tired now.

3 min REST and then…….

7 min AMRAP

  • 7 x Burpees
  • 7 x Box Jumps @ 25″
  • 7 x Air Squats

Total: 6 rounds.

Today is just not the day. There’s a weekend coming up and I am looking forward to it! However, after Monday, I am away for the better part of two weeks, staying in hotels and jetting overseas (inc. lots of jetlag). Perhaps a rest is what I need?

 

Blog

For those of you who have made it this far, can I ask a favour? Could you share my website on social media just once? On the face of it, I have over 80 followers on WordPress but the stats show only about a maximum of 15 people read it a day (except when I posted about my dad dying and then it was over 500+ in one day!!). I regularly ask for guidance on what you might like to read in these blogs, so please comment and add that too.

 

All the best and thank you for a good week, to those who have contributed thus far!

7 Comments

  1. I’m really impressed along with your writing talents as well
    as with the format in your weblog. Is that this a paid subject or did you modify it yourself?
    Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it’s
    uncommon to look a nice blog like this one today..

    Like

Leave a Reply

