What Animal Would I Be? Mantras – 22 Jun 16

I write today’s post entirely inspired by another that I read this morning about Mantras: https://thecrossfitmermaid.com/2016/06/22/my-mantra-and-why-it-should-be-yours-too/

Mantras are fascinating from a coaching point of view. A short, powerful sentence that you use as an anchor around which you find strength. It can be anything from a line in a song, something positive about yourself, a characteristic from an animal you particularly relate to….the list could go on. The one in the URL above (and I really do recommend that you read it) is, “I am a f’ing Unicorn!“. On the face of it, to your or I, perhaps not that powerful. But that’s not the point. To the CrossFit Mermaid, it is EXTREMELY powerful. She has identified characteristics about Unicorns that she relates to and that motivate her.  Said over and over again; thought about, enhanced and reinforced, repeatedly harnessed.

It’s an inspirational read, as I say, check it out.

So my question to you and me today is, “What is your mantra?”. More specifically, to me, “What animal are you?”

I’ve focused on animals because I’ve been down this line before. I’ve tried to hook in to my military background. I’ve attempted using something intrinsic, such as the pride of my family, to motivate me and while they work in isolation, they are not as all encompassing as I would like. There has to be a ‘Totem’, an ‘Avatar’, something that speaks about who and what I am in the world. We anthropomorphise animals all the time, giving them human characteristics; this is the reverse. I am channelling animal characteristics in to me.

So what animal am I? What motivates me? Well, I know I’m motivated by Affiliation (McLelland’s Motivational Needs Theory) and foolishly loyal sometimes but that I do need to work alone sometimes and escape it all. I’m fit, love the outdoors. I am lean and not heavy but not without some muscle……who knows…..I’ll sleep on it tonight and see what my tiny brain dreams up for me. Whatever it is will be kept close, built upon and used sparingly.

I might mention this again tomorrow night when I write about Tools for Goal Achievement.

On to today!

Strength – Overhead Accessory Work

5 x 3 Strict Behind the Neck Press

40 (x 5) / 50 / 55 / 60 / 62.5kg

Very pleased with this. Last week I achieved 52.5 for a Strict Behind The Neck SNATCH Grip Press. With a closer grip and more lat / trap engagement, this was always going to be higher and more controlled.

Skill (supposedly)

  • Max Effort Push Ups
  • 2 min Rest
  • Max Effort Push Ups

76 / 33. I got to 50 and slowed…..right…..down…..However, without breaking form I proceeded to trot out 1 at a time until I could do no more. The 2 mins rest felt like 30 secs and then it was back to it. Obviously, this WOD is about active recovery and it highlighted a weakness there for me that I will take and build on.I am exceptionally pleased with the form throughout; arms in nice and tight, forearms remain perpendicular, elbows in.

Conditioning – Anaerobic / Muscular Endurance / Plymometric Gymnastics

5 Rounds for Time:

  • 10 x Back Squat @ 60kg (First lift from the floor)
  • 10 x Bar Facing Burpees
  • 200m Run

Time: 14:44 Rx

Gassy bitch! This sucked ass but I set a pace and kept to it, speeding up on the final run. The Bar Facing Burpees were the real challenge after all the push ups; all back squats unbroken and the run was not exactly a sprint but I maintained the pressure.

Nutrition

  • Breakfast: 3 x Beef Slices stuffed with spinach. 1 x Banana. 200ml Whole Milk. 1 x Egg. 25g Whey Protein
  • Lunch: Noodles and 185g Tuna. 150ml Whole Milk
  • Dinner: Homemade Chicken Curry and Sweet Potato Mash
  • Snacks: 1 x mini Flapjack pre-WOD. 2 x Small Handful Mixed Nuts.

Well-Being

What a great night’s sleep last night!! I’ll definitely be following the pattern tonight.

Recommendation: Goodnight Tea from Tiger. Find a TIGER store near you and get some!

 

 

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

