On Target at the end of the Week – 16 Jun 16

I’ll start with last night, Wed 15 Jun.

Pulling in to CF Watford, I was gunning for some barbell work; after a lot of bodyweight, aerobic, gymnastic work recently, I really wanted to get hold of the barbell and throw it around. The CF angels shone down and sure enough, I smiled at being welcomed by:

Strength – Snatch Accessory Work

4 x 3 Behind the Neck Snatch Grip Strict Press

20 x 20 / 5 x 40 / 3 x 45 / 3 x 47.5 / 3 x 50 / 3 x 52.5kg

The heaviest weight in the box, I am particularly pleased with this as I work towards getting back to beyond my previous Snatch best. All strict. I reckon I can go heavier too.

MetCon – Extended Anaerobic, Low Weight, Medium Reps

Here’s the fun part!

For Time (@42.5kg):

  • 20 x Thruster
  • 400m Run
  • 20 x Power Clean
  • 400m Run
  • 20 x Front Squats
  • 400m Run
  • 20 x Shoulder to Overhead (Push Press)
  • 400m Run
  • 20 x Overhead Squats

Time: 13:54 Rx

20160602_102510.jpg

Studying the board beforehand, I was a little intimidated by some 14.5min times on there. However, aim at them I did and SMASH!!!! Top score of the day! All Thrusters unbroken, Power Cleans SHOULD have been unbroken but I broke in to 10 / 5 / 5. Front Squats were 15 / 5 (could maybe have squeezed them all out), Push Press unbroken and Overhead Squats unbroken!!

I must confess to dancing around the gym as I came in under the 14 min mark. Boom!

thumb-up-terminator pablo M R

Cheers Arnold, you’re the best.

Today – 16 Jun 16

A whole day in a conference in central London and I was aching to get in to the gym tonight. However, after 3 days on the trot of muscular endurance work, I wanted to take another crack at my Clean & Jerks; 2 weeks ago I was upset to not get past 100kg Clean and only a 92.5kg Jerk (different sessions).

After conducting my #22kill #22pushupchallenge Day 10 video (here), I started pushing through some good Clean work.

Strength – Olympic Lifting

1 RM Clean & Jerk

80 / 80 / 85 / 85 / 90 / 95 / 90 / 92.5 / 97.5 / 100kg

YES! Back on track. Ok, it’s not my 102.5kg best but that’ll come. This was about getting confidence on the bar again and I’ve done that. It wasn’t plain sailing though; I failed at 95 and 102.5 while working up the ladder. I’d like to have had another 15 mins or so to go back down again and try to breach 100 but ultimately, I got what I wanted.

Nutrition

Not ideal. Conference food. It actually was very good quality but it was wraps, sauces, pastries, etc. I snacked on a few boiled eggs on the way home and ate homemade chilli & rice for dinner (thanks Mrs Nomad).

Well Being

A very poor night’s sleep last night. I’ve had a valerian sleep tea tonight and hope it does the trick. Once I’m asleep, all is well, it’s just getting there in the first place that seems to take time.

insomnia

Links

Leave a Reply

