Wednesday 25 May 16 – Hardworking but no escape

I just want to escape. When occupied, there is no silence, there is no void, my thoughts don’t echo. But it’s not an escape, it’s a poor hiding place. It’s been 7 days since My Dad Died. Working, working out, sleeping, peace in my mind.

image

I went to CrossFit Aylesbury on Monday and while I tried, tried hard, to work hard there was just nothing there. Sure, I sweated, I lifted, I ran, I made noises, but it wasn’t there. My head wouldn’t command my body. My system just didn’t respond to my call, there was no synergy.

I tried again yesterday with simple weightlifting. Simple only in that there was 1 movement only to consider, not simple in the movement itself. But my mind wasn’t in the room. The barbell was crap, no chalk, no power, excuses and excuses. Under powered, angry and confused.

image

image

Today, I went back to Aylesbury.  Owen and Madz, the owner/coaches are legends. I explained to them on Monday evening and they understood.  They invited me back.

image

A great WOD to get stuck in to with plenty of meditation time. Time to simply shut off and get it all out.

Strength

3 x 10 Kettlebell Strict Press (both arms)

16 / 20 / 24kg

Pleased with this. Raw strength, pure grunt, aggression.

MetCon

3 RFT:

2 mins Row for Cals
2 mins Burpee Over Box Jumps
2 mins Wall Balls 9kg to 10′
2 mins Rest

Total Reps: 262

First round 96, second round 84, third round 82

image

I hammered the first row with 46 Cals but thereafter it was 40 and 36. Burpee Box Jump Overs were HARD! As soon as I got off the rower each time, I hit the burpees with no pause. Likewise with Wall Balls. No time to think, focused work.

The score was actually pretty good but I left feeling angry, aggressive and upset. Tired, spent, angry, upset.

Head not quite there but system starting to respond to my commands.

Nutrition

Breakfast: Eggs, whole milk, beef slices,  spinach, coleslaw.

Lunch: same as breakfast.

Dinner: 4 roast chicken thighs, no skin. Coleslaw. Milk. Eggs.

Snacks: clementines. 1 flapjack (over the course of the day)

Health and Wellbeing

Enough on that, for now.

I can’t thank Owen and Madz enough for their coaching tonight. Both teachers, they have a firm coaching style that has genuine positive effect on their members. The facility is large, clean and very well laid out. Their athletes are extremely welcoming and friendly-competitive, exactly what you want in a box. The programming is well-structured and suitable for all.

Links

Glassman Chipper (Inc.  Rowing strategy): Here

2 Comments

  1. It is appropriate time to make some plans for the future
    and it is time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could
    I desire to suggest you few interesting things or advice.
    Maybe you could write next articles referring to this
    article. I desire to read even more things
    about it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

