Tuesday 10 May 16 – 1 min Protein Cake, Back Squats and 20mins of Suck

1 min Protein Cake

image

· 1 x Egg White

· 1 x Scoop MyProtein Whey Powder (20g) – Chocolate Peanut Butter flavour

· Whisk together into a smooth, sticky paste; leave no powder unmixed.

· 1 min in a mug in the microwave on full power.

Results: an absolutely bloody horrible bath sponge of a ‘cake’ that sucks the entire moisture content of your body out of you, requiring a full litre of water to be consumed simultaneously.

My thanks to www.bodybuilding.com for that marvellous recipe that I won’t be repeating in that format ever again. I think I’ll add some nut butter in future to provide a little oil and therefore some moisture. I certainly won’t be attempting to make this again as above unless I lose my loofah.

I’d intended working out in camp today, giving CFW a miss in favour of some time on my own. However, as the working day came to an end I was feeling so low and unmotivated that I knew I’d either have to attend a group session or it just wasn’t going to happen. When I saw the WOD on my facebook screen, I realised this even more. I simply wasn’t going to push myself through a tough 20-min AMRAP in any meaningful sense without others around me. I might have done better in the back squats though, given more time. However, more time is now being to the strength portion, as was borne out in yesterday’s strict press.

Strength

5-3-1 Back Squat, working to a 1RM

10 x 60 / 5 x 100 / 3 x 120 / 1 x 130 / 1 x 135kg

An official 1RM of 140 still alludes me. This was a real struggle to achieve. With more time to go back down a few Kgs before working back up again, I think I could have managed 140 but not any more. I’ve not Back Squatted in a while so this isn’t to be sniffed at.

MetCon

20 min AMRAP

· 5 x Toes To Bar

· 10 x Push Ups

· 15 x Goblet Squats (24kg)

· 20 x Sit Ups (Ab Mat)

· 25 x Double Unders

Total: 7 rounds + 16

There has to be an end in sight to this ‘engine programme’ that they are pushing at the moment but for now I am very much appreciating it. Charlie, the head coach and owner, identified after the Open that aerobic engine capacity was a key weakness and has spent a long time since getting it up to scratch. It was one of my own overall weaknesses too and I’ve certainly seen huge advances in this area recently. At around 3 rounds in I was pleased to have chosen the option to get out to the Box. It was the others around me that kept me competitive and working at capacity; the voice in my head was aggressively positive. I really hammered myself, albeit at a controlled pace, through rounds 1-5, maintaining pretty consistent times per round. However, in round 6 I took too much of a breather getting back on the bar and the same in round 7. I did speed up in the last 16 reps though so it was pretty positive overall.

Nutrition

Breakfast: Nuts, Leaves, Meat, Eggs, Milk and Protein

Lunch: Nuts, Leaves, Meat, Eggs, Milk

Snacks: Nuts, post-WOD bath sponge cake

Dinner: Sweet potato cottage pie. Milk. Love it (thank you, Mrs Nomad!)

Health and Wellbeing

I appear to be recovering quite well from the WODs, with little fatigue or ill effects the following day. I have been taking high-strength fish oil (>2g per day of EPA/DHA) for a while now and believe I am seeing tangible benefits in my joints and general inflammation. Coupled with a return to a basic diet throughout the week, there is generally far less inflammation in my body and therefore fewer niggles, aches and pains.

Links

Toes to Bar: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IJZpz5C1dAA

1.

Leave a Reply

