20 Apr 16 Wednesday – Hitting it Hard

Wednesday. Hump Day. (Photos to liven up this blog to follow soon!)

  1. 1 x WOD (CF Watford) on Monday
  2. 2 x WODs (on base) on Tuesday
  3. 2 x WODs (on base and CFW) on Wednesday.

5 sessions so far in 3 days: 1 solely monostructural, 1 with a single movement (Wall Balls), 3 with Strength and a multi-movement Aerobic MetCon. All Aerobic Endurance.

Thus far, this has been a very Aerobic Pathway focused week. I spoke with the owner of CFW about that this evening; next week is due a return to some punchy, short, anaerobic work. Given the amount of focus on it this week, I’ll be forgoing tomorrow morning’s Aerobic Engine work and will enjoy the extra 60 mins rest instead. I’ll be back to CFW tomorrow night anyway, making it 6 x WODs in 4 days, enough for anyone quite frankly! I’ll then cap it off with a WOD on Friday morning, depending on how I feel.

Tonight’s CFW Show looked like this:

Strength

5 x 5 Bench Press @ 75% of 1RM

This has been an area of weakness for me, having not worked it much at all. Although my 1RM is over 100, I struggled through the 80kg today. Completing 4 rounds of 5, I only managed 3 of the final set. We didn’t really build up to it and somewhat rushed through it. Still, I’d hoped to be better than that but know I can rectify it pretty swiftly.

MetCon

Wow. This was a tough one. 3 x 6 min AMRAPs!

6 min AMRAP #1

  • 10 x Row for Cals
  • 10 x Pistols
  • 10 x Burpees

A total of 2 Rounds + 27 extras. The Pistols are the specific weakness here and something I will incorporate more in to my warm ups. It’s still the only movement I can’t yet complete satisfactorily. Hence, they slowed me down and ruined me for the Burpees! But then, who wants to do more Burpees?! The Rowing was fine though with 1 Cal / Pull.

6 min AMRAP #2

  • 30 x Double Unders
  • 15 x Kettlebell Swing (Russian) @ 24kg
  • 10 x Goblet Squat @ 24kg

Total: 3 Rounds + 45 extras. Racing to make up for my first AMRAP poor performance, I got off to an equally poor start with the Double Unders. However, I regained composure and swept through 20 unbroken. All other DUs were the unbroken too. All Squats and Swings unbroken!

6 min AMRAP #3

  • Run 800m
  • Max Effort Handstand Pushups in remaining time.

Total HSPU: 17

Well, all the running and rowing recently has definitely taken it out of me. I came trotting around the 800m loop in about 3:50 (compared to the 3:20 or so yesterday), leaving me just over 2 mins to get stuck in to the HSPU. Opting for kipping, I managed 5, 4 and then 2s. By then end, I was spent!

Nutrition (Aiming for 120-135g of Protein per day)

  • Breakfast: 2 x Eggs, handful of leaves, handful of mixed nuts, 200ml Full Fat Milk and 20g Whey Protein.
  • Snack: Apple (pre-impromptu 50mins of 5-a-side football!), Nuts
  • Lunch: Curry. A lovely, freshly-made chunky beef curry with a little rice and lots of salad.
  • Snack: handful of nuts
  • Post-WOD: 20g Whey Protein (water)
  • Dinner: Chicken breast, bowl of mixed salad & beans, 2 x boiled eggs.

And yes, I also had a mini Cadbury’s Creme egg! 😉

General

I’m feeling strong. Everything is holding up as it should. I’ve been wary shoulder and right MCL but I am happy. Sure, I’m fatigued; perhaps 2 sessions every day isn’t ideal but I want to make the most of my time available. I will find a suitable balance as this goes on – perhaps only 2 x 6am sessions and 4 x evening sessions in 5 days will actually work better, we shall see.

 

Links

  • Pistols: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b4q0kqmF608
  • Double Unders: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zyvusyli-UU

 

Leave a Reply

