19 Apr 16 – Mornings and Evenings….with some sleep in between.

In the spirit of this new fresh outlook, an update on the last few days.

Monday

No Aerobic Engine work this morning as it was a late journey back last night and I quite fancied some sleep!

Strength

Work to a heavy single Snatch Balance

5×40 / 2 x 50 / 3 x 50 / 1 x 55 / 1 x 57.5kg

Overhead work remains a weakness, especially confidence under the bar. The Snatch Balance is THE method by which to resolve this and I’m pleased to see it in the programming. Shoulder mobility is good with external rotation a good factor, even at the bottom. Sure, it could be better and will naturally become so as I continue. 57.5kg is not a record but is still a sound result, there might have been a very gentle heave beforehand but I’m taking it as a win.

MetCon

18min Partner Bear Complex (I Go, You Go)

  • 1 x Power Clean (50kg)
  • 1 x Front Squat
  • 1 x Push Press
  • 1 x Back Squat
  • 1 x Push Press

This is a light weight, high volume WOD. Specifically, it engages the Aerobic Pathway. This essentially means that it is a sustainable activity over longer periods of time while maintaining good form and consistency. It works the Recovery system, training you to control your breathing and heart rate.

My partner, Cam, went with 40kg while I stuck to my guns with 50kg. Having a partner to work with always makes me work that bit harder and so it proved here too. Between us, in 18 mins, we completed 62 rounds, 31 sets each. That’s 31 sets with 50kg, or 1550kg shifted through 5 separate movements (7,750kg therefore shifted in total!) in 18 minutes. Entirely unbroken thoughout, this WOD achieved its aim.

Tuesday

Aerobic Engine Training

The Watt Bikes are currently out of action and I didn’t want to jump on the rower again so decided on a 20min Every Minute On the Minute of 10 x Wall Balls. As with yesterday’s Bear Complex, I used a common CrossFit movement to specifically target the Aerobic Pathway. Completing each set of 10 in 22 secs, I will up this to 12 next time, giving myself only 30 secs recovery instead of the 38.

Strength

5 x 5 Thrusters @ 75% 1RM

60 / 60 / 60 / 60 / 60kg

My best ever 1RM Thruster is 87.5 (at a competition in CF Solent many years ago) but I am far off that at the moment so took 80kg as the 1RM. Completing this in the on-base gym, it was full when I arrived and so I had to conduct the MetCon first. I am sure this limited my capacity for 5 x 5 Thrusters, especially after the 200 Wall Balls this morning AND the Wall Balls in the MetCon.

MetCon

For Time:

  • 800m Run
  • 30 x Burpee Over Box (24”)
  • Rest 2 Mins
  • 800m Run
  • 40 x Toes To Bar
  • Rest 2 Mins
  • 800m Run
  • 50 x Wall Balls (9kg to 10’)

Another Aerobic Pathway Chipper WOD, this is a Gymnastics & Monstructural focussed endeavour, entirely through bodyweight. I’m going to have to take a break soon; I wasn’t expecting quite so much aerobic work from the CFW WODs. I suspect the programme will change shortly though. Very much a typical ‘Chipper’, the purpose of this type of WOD is pacing. Each of the 3 sets should be completed in as close to the same time as possible, especially the run aspect. The 2 min Rest is enough time to actively recover, blow out the CO2 and bring the heart rate back down to manageable levels.

Having identified a 400m route from the back of the gym, I kept a perhaps-too-comfortable pace on the run but the Burpee Box Jump Overs were, to be honest, bloody excellent! In sets of 10, I completed all to Rx standard, jumping from the squat of the burpee each time and not recovering to a full stand before leaping. The second run was almost exactly the same time and the subsequent 40 x Toes To Bar were as a 15, a 10, and 3 x 5, rotating between overhand and underhand grip. Keeping the pace the same for the third 800m, the Wall Balls were looming but I cracked those in 25, 10, 5, 5, 5 with very little break in between.

Total Time: 26:43 Rx

A long day but a strong one. I hope you like the new format for this, I’ll be changing the actual page template/theme soon.

Do take a breeze through the links below.

Typical Nutrition

My philosophy at the moment is simply to eat clean. What that means to me is simply to cut out the processed crap. Cut back to the basics and you can’t go wrong. Over the next few weeks I’ll be sorting it out in terms of macros: 30% Protein, 40% Carbohydrates (not sugar but lots of leafy veg, some rice, nuts, etc), 30 % Fat. At this time, I’m just trying to get the 0.75g / 1lb bodyweight that is required for overall growth and sustainable development. That means approx 132g Protein a day.

Breakfast: 2 x eggs, 20g Whey Protein, 200ml Full Fat Milk, Handful of Spinach/Rocket/Chard, handful of mixed nuts (no peanuts).

Snack: Banana/Apple

Lunch: 1 x egg, 2 slices ham, some cherry tomatoes, handful of leaves, handful of mixed nuts.

Snack: Nuts

Dinner: Roast Chicken breast + leg, more leaves, more tomatoes.

Pre-WOD: Apple/Banana

Post-WOD: 20g Whey Protein + 200ml Full Fat Milk

Links:

· Aerobic Engine Building: http://www.brickhouseathlete.com/2013/09/15/aerobic-engine-building/

· Snatch Balance: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Kcend-O21w

· Bear Complex: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oOd_VaYDFSw

· What is Fitness? / Metabolic Pathways: http://library.crossfit.com/free/pdf/CFJ-trial.pdf

 

Leave a Reply

