Mon 15 Feb 16 – Broken-up Cindy

With my knee in bits, scattered somewhere on the box floor, I was pleased to see a broken-up version of Cindy appear on the board last night. While I am getting very nervous at the lack of any time on the barbell, the increased opportunity for upper body work, gymnastics and rowing is one to be seized. Sure, I think I’ll suffer with any heavy work during the Open but I can use this time now to improve conditioning.

So, as is the norm, I crawled out of bed after a rubbish night’s sleep and staggered to the car with the ice scraper in one hand and coffee in the other. The box was freezing when we got in this morning and there was a little too much lethargy from some for my liking. I had them running around quite a bit to warm up and really tried to get them engaged but sticking hands in pockets was far more of an attractive option, apparently. My own coaching style may need a revisit.

Taking time to focus on the mechanics of the Pull Up, Squat and Push Up is underrated. I think the guys got a lot out of revisiting the basics; working on good breathing technique and positioning to allow good breathing was eye-opening to them. We worked on pull up technique using bands and jumps; breaking down egos is hard in this regard but with so few people there, and with it being so early in the morning, their egos hadn’t really woken up so we got around that.

MetCon

For Time:

  • 10 x Pull Ups
  • 25 x Squats / 5 x Push Ups
  • 10 x Pull Ups
  • 20 x Squats / 5 x Push Ups
  • 10 x Pull Ups
  • 15 x Squats / 15 x Push Ups
  • 10 x Pull Ups
  • 10 x Squats / 20 x Push Ups
  • 10 x Pull Ups
  • 5 x Squats / 25 x Push Ups

Time: 6:55 RX

All pull ups were unbroken as a combination of butterfly and regular kipping. The squats were unbroken and perhaps performed a little too slowly but I’m heavily majoring in strengthening my knee right now so, “slowly, slowly” was the mantra. The Push Ups were unbroken through 1,2,3 but broken in the final 2 rounds; I even had to resort to wide-arm push ups for the final 10. Considering I’m not long back from shoulder issues, I am pleased though.

The final 20 mins were spent focusing on barbell skills with the guys. Due to the nature of the programming that they insist on typically following, there is little time for them to practice skills so we really made the most of this. Covering Snatch, Power Clean and Back Squats also allowed me to sharpen up my own movement coaching skills too.

Leave a Reply

