Wed 13 Jan 15 – Success….and not the positive failure kind.

Day three in a row of posting…….can I make it four??

Still smarting from yesterday’s Cleans, I knew I had to make up for it today. Unsure if I’d even get a chance to train, especially as I have a charity 40min Row this evening (#leglessrowers #row4legless). However, the building went quiet and I snuck out to get back to the main gym here, away from crappy mirrors.

Strength

6 x 12 Strict Press.

Start with empty bar (20kg) and build up to daily max.

20 (x 20) / 30 / 40 / 45 / 45 / 50

That last set was a beast but I managed to push it all out, completely strict. If nothing else, I have strong shoulders.

MetCon

For time:

  • 10-1 Push Press at 50kg
  • 1-10 Lateral Burpee over Bar

Time: 8:40.

This was pretty honking but all push presses were unbroken, even if the lateral burpees were quite slow.

 

In between the two portions, however, I returned to the Cleans. Unhappy with yesterday and unwilling to start being psychologically blocked by 100kg (220lb), I worked my way back up:

3 x 60 / 2 x 70 / 80 / 85 / 90 / 95 / 100 FAIL / 90 (Power Clean) / 95 / 100 / 100 / 102.5

So, a day later, not only did I hit the 100kg but I did it twice and then managed a 102.5! Sure, it’s not a new PR but it equals my current PR and that is very pleasing for me!

 

and on to tonight’s little endeabour. Sure, 40 mins on the Concept II…..you try it.

Leave a Reply

