Tues 12 Jan 16 – Not a success……better way than saying what it really was.

Check me out, 2 posts in 2 days, this is some kind of record in recent times; let’s keep this up!

In true coaching, positive-reinforcement terms today wasn’t a failure. There are always positives. It also wasn’t a success.

Strength

1RM Clean

3 x 60kg / 3 x 60 / 3 x 60 / 3 x 70 / 3 x 70 / 3 x 80 / 85 / 90 / 95 / 100 Fail / 90 / 90 / 90 / 92.5 / 95 / 97.5 / 100 Fail (Multiple Attempts)

Positives: Lots of time on the bar. I repeatedly played around and was successful with 90+ kg. My form is pretty solid.

Negatives: I failed at 100kg after last year repeatedly getting 102.5. Sure, it’s only a 5kg difference but it’s upset me quite a bit. I didn’t want to be failing at 100kg after it took me so long to get over that particular hump. I now need to get in to CFP and beat it as soon as possible. Seeing as last week I cracked a 97.5kg HANG CLEAN, getting a 100kg+ clean shouldn’t be a problem; perhaps it was just one of those days. Interestingly, I have developed a VERY bad habit of dropping my right knee to the ground during a failure. I don’t know where this has come from but it has to stop immediately.

MetCon

  • 15 x Clean (full depth) @ 50% 1RM – 50kg

Time: 58 secs. Entirely unbroken.

Rest 3-5 mins

  • 12 x Clean @ 50kg

Time: 40.5 secs. Unbroken.

Rest 3-5 mins

  • 9 x Clean @ 50kg

Time: 27 secs. Unbroken.

Lots of positives here, especially as it was all unbroken. Perhaps I took a little too much time in between sets as I sped up each round. Nevertheless, it left me hanging out and my thighs spent.

Tomorrow night, from 2320-0000, I am taking part in a charity 24hr Rowathon in aid of Row2Recovery #leglessrowers. Check them out!

 

(40mins on a rower……shit)

Leave a Reply

