Mon 11 Jan 16 – Updates, Front Squats, Bodyweight Chipper and a bursting bladder

As I sit here with a bursting bladder, awaiting my 3rd compulsory drug test of the year (UK Athletics, eat your heart out!), I need something to take my mind off the pain so I’ll write this. Last week was a success from a training point of view, despite a lot of travel. Due to the amount of travel and work, I was unable to find the time to update the blog but I’ll seek to do so now. I think I reported on the Monday but have since failed. On Tues, we had our annual Basic Fitness Test. not especially arduous, it really does live up to its name: In Combat Boots, Trousers, Belt & T-Shirt:

  • 5 x Overhand Pull Ups
  • 55 x Sit Ups in 2 mins.
  • 1.5 mile Run (as a squad) in 15 mins
  • 1.5 mile Run, Individual Best Effort

As an seemingly elderly 36 year old, I only have to complete 3 x Pull Ups, 35 x Sit Ups and I have 12:30 for the Best Effort Run. Obviously, I am not going to settle for aging decrepitude and I completed the 5 x Pull Ups and 55 x Sit Ups without an issue. The ‘Warm Up’ 1.5 miles was pleasant enough although I could begin to feel my left achilles aching; I had attempted to tape it up with some Kinesiology Tape (K-Tape) but it had no effect at all, just as a physio friend had predicted. My Best Effort time in May last year was 9:40, one of the quickest of my career actually. This time round, I staggered home in 9:57. Partially, this was to do with my achilles but it is also to do with the lack of actual running I have done this year. I sprinted out of the gate and made it to the halfway point in 5mins flat; it’s entirely uphill and so I was happy with that. Ordinarily, I would make up considerable time on the way back down. This time though I struggled quite a bit. Work to do here, not least the repairing of my achilles once and for all! Wednesday was a travelling day. What should have been a 3.75hr journey ended up taking 6 due to traffic chaos. I had been hoping to get to the gym but there was just no chance. On Thursday, I awoke and pushed out 200 x Sit Ups, 100 x Squats and 100 x Push Ups – my left shoulder is still creaking and sore; I don’t know at all what I’ve done here but it is healing slowly. My work on Thursday was scheduled to take all day. I was then going to head over to CrossFit Watford for a look around with a view to joining them later this year. However, with my schedule cleared I checked CrossFit Plymouth’s timetable and saw Barbell Club on at 1800. Barring any further traffic chaos, I thought I could just about make that. And I did. I got back in time for an excellent coached Barbell session where I learned 3 little nuggets to improve my Front Squats, Cleans and overhead work. I love it when unexpected things turn up little gems like that. And so to Friday morning where I was up and in to the box on time, raring to go: Strength 20mins, Every Min On the Min (EMOM).

  • Evens – 3 x Touch’n’Go Power Snatch @ 50kg
  • Odds – 5 x Kipping Handstand Push Up

MetCon Consisting of a significant number of double unders, I steered clear of the programming but opted for something I’ve only done once, at CrossFit Saxon in Wymondham – D-Ball Carries. The D-Ball is a medecine ball filled with some extemely dense material. We have a 60kg and 70kg variant; they are an absolute bugger to lift ‘n’ shift.

  • 5 x 60m D-Ball Sprints @ 60kg
  • 10 x D-Ball Power Cleans @ 60kg

Not for time, this little workout was done at a high enough intensity to see me off for the whole weekend! I love working in a ‘strongman’ capacity; it works you in a completely different way, forcing you to use so much more. I miss my ‘rock’ from France 😉 Monday 11 Jan 16 After yet another terrible night of sleep, I shuffled in to the box at 0600 to set up for the first group of the day. I don’t know what it is about Sunday nights but they have become my nemesis. I simply cannot get to sleep; my heart races even though I’m not really thinking about anything specific. I don’t worry about anything, I don’t focus on the WOD, I have no outstanding debts……who knows. So I ended up downing my last ‘Dream Water’ from the USA and I was knocked right out. I should get back in to my Sleep Tea routine in the evenings, I think. I’ve even resorted to a blue light filter on my tablet which has had an amazing effect generally but last night I was at a loss. so after only 5 hrs sleep, it was back in to training. c’est la vie. 6 people turned up this morning, a cracking turnout for a Monday morning session; some excellent dedication going on there. Some of the athletes won’t expose their motivations or desires but whatever they are must be working as I wouldn’t be up at that time unless there was no other option. Strength 6 x 12 Front Squats – start at empty bar and add weight each round, 2.5 – 10 kg. 20 / 30 / 40 / 50 / 55 / 60 / 70kg Sure, on a better day (having had some sleep) and not so early in the morning I would have achieved about 80+ kg but this was sufficient for today. No complaints. MetCon An interesting one today: 1 min per movement (Max Effort) with 1 min rest after each one. Record total reps per round.

  • Air Squats
  • Push Ups
  • Extra Min Rest
  • Air Squats
  • Push Ups
  • Box Jumps
  • Burpees
  • Extra Min Rest
  • Air Squats
  • Push Ups
  • Box Jumps
  • Burpees
  • Pull Ups
  • Toes To Bar

Round 1: 90 Round 2: 121 Round 3: 150 Push Ups were a weakness here. 40 in the 1st round, they dropped off in the 2nd and 3rd rounds. My left shoulder is getting better, especially after a little muscle up work yesterday, but still fatigued far too quickly. Burpees are always horrendous but I managed 20 in the 2nd round and 16 in the 3rd. Pull Ups totalled 30, I think and Toes To Bar was 20. By the end we were all feeling a little ropery and sick, I must admit. There was bags of effort from everyone today. Awesome.  

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

