11 Dec 15 – Training alone again….and only the second time this week.

Another Friday, another early morning and another empty box.

Having not trained all week due to circumstance, I was hoping to get stuck in this morning and engage in a bit of “group-therapy”. However, it wasn’t the case. I am a little amazed, although not surprised, at the lack of motivation of the modern adult. At the first sign of a little difficulty, be it the cold or darkness, it’s “stay in bed” territory. But I covered that in my last post – I have to try and engage with the athletes better. Certainly, early mornings during the summer months were largely full.

And so, all alone, early in the morning, I was faced with:

Strength

Every 90 secs x 10

3 x Power Snatch

Score: 50 / 50 / 50 / 50 / 50 / 50 / 50 / 50 / 55 / 60

My left shoulder has been giving me quite a bit of annoyance for a few months now. It’s a deep, fatiguing ache inside the joint that I should probably get checked out (because I have so much time to get to the doc). Even so, this was a pretty light weight and I should be stronger than this by now. I have spent much more time with the Snatch than previously but it’s just not coming along. In total honesty though, I don’t have the motivation to really focus on that one thing though so should just be happy with where I am. I’m not ever going to be a competitive CrossFitter and so shouldn’t expect to improve across the board. For the final 2 sets I up’d the weight in order to push myself but the last one was not pretty and was quite embarrassing.

MetCon

Cash-In: 100 x Double Unders

3 Rounds for Time:

  • 5 x Power Clean @ 60kg
  • 10 x Deadlift @ 60kg
  • 15 x Over Bar Burpee

Cash-Out: 100 x Double Unders

Time: 12:57

Utterly Miserable is the only way to describe my effort this morning at this. I am so not in the right frame of mind. I broke the first round of Double Unders at 60, completing a further 20 +20 in over 1min 40secs. Despite genuinely putting effort in, I couldn’t Clean the 80kg (100kg was Rx!!) and had to drop it further to “Level 1”. How I found 80kg to be too much, I will leave for another day. So, upset by that one. The Deadlifts were simple and unbroken but the Burpees were a disaster zone. Pouring with sweat, I laboured through each round of those as if I was tasked with pushing an 18-wheeler or something. It was pathetic.

I know “not every day is a PR day” but today was a real low for this year. I shouldn’t be so hard on myself, I know that. I have a very demanding job at the moment, I have the typical responsibilities of all modern adults and I’m away from home quite a bit. If I look back through my logs, I am in a better place (broadly speaking) than this time last year. I am motivated to get out of bed at ungodly hours to train (which is not the best time to try to lift maximal volume either!) and I do continue to hold fitness / wellness as a top priority in my life. I should be thankful for these last elements as it shows a true mindset change in me over the last 4 years or so.

Meh. There’s always next week.

Leave a Reply

