02 Dec 15 – Wednesday – Overhead work and some Wall Ball / Double Under smash

Getting towards the end of the day, I realised I had a little time to play with so headed down to CFP. It being the middle of the pm, there was noone else there and the place was feeling pretty cold. I tried to warm up properly but perhaps didn’t pay it the attention it deserved. By the time I get in to the Strength portion, I was still a little cold and shoulders tight; I should have worked a bit more on that but perhaps I was rushing. Instead, I just ramped the music up and dived in.

Strength

Every Other Minute for 20 mins

  • 1 x Clean
  • 3 x Split Jerk

Score: 65 / 70 / 70 / 75 / 80 / 85 / 85 / 90 / 92.5 / 95kg

Even at 70kg I could feel that my shoulders weren’t as mobile as they should have been and I wasn’t getting my chest through properly. This put pressure on the lower back. However, I ploughed on because I’m an idiot. Getting to 95kg was a massive surprise but a pleasant one. I couldn’t have gone heavier. The 3 x Split Jerks were ‘ok’ but it was returning them to the rack position each time that hurt. Still, a good score in the end.

MetCon

Death By….. (every minute, increasing reps until you die).

  • 20 x Double Unders
  • 2 x Wall Balls (9kg)

Increase Wall Balls by 2 each time

Total: 14 Wall Balls + 12.

I therefore managed 160 Double Unders, 68 x Wall Balls before failing to beat the minute. I was baggage by the end. Although entirely unbroken until past 12 wall balls, I then broke them up and really wasted time. I definitely had it in me to get in to the next round but nevermind. I worked hard, if not smart, and felt good for having done so.

Leave a Reply

