25 Nov 15 – Snatches, Muscle Ups and Running – oh, and nutrition

I’ll start with a little nutrition thing.  I’ve spent the last year or so attending early morning sessions and the thing I find hardest to get right is nutrition at that time of day. Crawling out of bed and trying to stuff enough in to your face to give you energy for a WOD is hard; however, I think I’ve cracked it. Over the year, I have tried protein shakes, coffee (strong instant), creatine, beta alanine, nuts, peanut butter, chocolate spread and milk…..I think that’s it. Obviously, not all together! Over time, I’ve felt bloated, tired, energetic, skittish, shaky, itchy (beta alanine), stiff…..I have tried to record my feelings on most days to track some kind of correlation.  The result, it seems, is quite simple.

Pre-Workout

  1. 1 x handful of trail mix – Lidl Mixed Nuts (no peanuts) with mixed dried fruit.
  2. 1 x 16oz strong instant coffee, black, no sugar.
  3. 3200mg Beta Alanine (I’ll put up with the itchy sensation)

Post-Workout

  • 25g Pure Whey Protein
  • 3000mg Creatine
  • 2 x poached eggs

This combination seems to support an energetic, but not skittish, strength and MetCon session and then keeps me from feeling hungry again until about lunchtime. Lunch then usually either consists of a 3-egg ‘everything’ omellette or large salad with tinned fish (mackerel, herring, etc). I’ve also increased strength and lost body fat over the time.

Ok, on to today’s WOD. As it’s Wednesday and I’m not coaching, it was back to the regular programming and not the Mainsite-style. Please don’t misunderstand me here – I truly believe in Mainsite programming; it is effective and is the benchmark for all other true CrossFit programmes to follow. However, the CF Plymouth programming that I have been following has a specific strength element that I have been following with the aim of achieving specific goals. I don’t want to just abandon my goals and change programming at this stage. Once I am through test week (mid-Dec) then I may revert back to Mainsite programming anyway, we shall see. That said, it was fantastic to see 9 of us this morning following the programming, all supporting each other and joking around.

Strength

Every Other Minute 20

  • 1 x Power Snatch
  • 1 x Hang Squat Snatch
  • 1 x Overhead Squat

40 / 45 / 50 / 50 / 55 / 55 / 60 / 60 / 60 / 65kg

The Snatch still being my biggest weakness, I wasn’t expecting much from this today. I am relatively content with a 65kg final total. Yes, I know I could have pushed 67.5, perhaps even 70kg but we had a set time limit to work to and what I did was what I did. My form was not consistent throughout either. It was clear that I needed more time to warm up really. Also, my first pull needs a lot of work. I am still finding that the Hang Snatch is easier than a Power Snatch and I don’t believe that should be the case.

MetCon

6 Rounds

  • Min 1 – 1-5 Muscle Ups
  • Min 2 – 10 x Box Jumps @ 24″, 10 x Wall Balls @ 9kg
  • Min 3 – 200m Run
  • Min 4 – Rest

The last time I attempted a Muscle Up WOD, I ended up with bursitis in my right elbow, which persists. I was also only able to complete 2 unbroken reps each time. Today, I was successful in achieving 3 reps on each round and no further damage to my elbow. The Box Jumps / Wall Balls were always completed with about 20 secs to spare in the minute. The 200m Run (actually about 225m) was always ‘just’ completed inside the minute and I was the only one to do so. The best I managed was 4 seconds clear while I twice achieved just 1 second clear.

All in all, a great start to the day actually. I’ve established what works best for me nutritionally in the morning and my Snatch isn’t as terrible as I thought, it just hasn’t improved much either.

 

Leave a Reply

