23 Nov 15 – Monday under the new programme

After much discussion with the athletes, the head honcho has decided to adjust the programme schedule to support more ‘Mainsite’ and ‘newbie development’. As such, the 0615 class is now far more Mainsite-led with significantly more time for skills development. This is truly great news. One thing I have been decrying for a long time is the lack of time to really get stuck in to technique on the ‘Sport’ programming where the Warm Up / Strength / MetCon all take up 60+ mins as it is. This change also appears to be welcomed by the fraternity as 2 x ‘relative newbies’ dropped in. As a coach, it was a brilliant session and it gave me a chance to really ‘drop some knowledge’ on Snatch technique prior to a swift Snatch/Burpee MetCon.  The only downside, however, is that usually on a Monday morning I am able to train alongside the athletes where there are experienced people present. With this new system, and with newbies around, I have to stop training and conduct the coaching – rightly so! It just means that I don’t get any training in on a Monday unless my work routine allows it.  My work routine doesn’t allow it. That’s 3 days of no training each week immediately off the bat. For today’s WOD, I did take part but I also stopped twice to keep an eye on the others; this is immediately reflective of my time in CrossFit Keelhaul where I just plateaued for 18 months.

MetCon

For Time:

  • 10 x Power Snatch @ 40kg
  • 1 x Lateral Over Bar Burpee
  • 9 x Power Snatch
  • 2 x Lat. Over. Burpee
  • 8
  • 3
  • 7
  • 4
  • etc

Time: 10:29

 

I’m going to have to find time on a Monday to train now. As it now appears, I am coaching 3 sessions per week and training 1 (2, if I can get in on a Wed or Thurs). I’m sure I’ll figure something out.

Leave a Reply

