Wed 30 Sept 2015 – GOAL!!!!!!!!!!!

btwb75

 

It might be with an orange tick – so only has ‘medium’ confidence associated with it – but it’s 75 people! I have seen 75 for the very first time on BeyondtheWhiteboard.com! Having finished the Open this year languishing at 68-69, this is a fantastic progression and has really spurred me on. This was my goal last year; to establish myself in the top 25% of CFers worldwide. Ok, I know I will dip below it in the next few months but equally I know I will begin to rise above it over the next year or so. Brilliant.

So how have I suddenly achieved it?

Well, following the CF Plymouth programming means only rarely doing recognised CrossFit benchmark WODs. Sure, we do the heavy lifting but you don’t often see those WODs the Beyond The Whiteboard recognises. So, this being test week, we are focusing on those benchmarks and it’s the progressions there that are pushing my overall score up.

So after going up 2 places at the beginning of the week, it was time today for some heavy lifting.

Strength

1RM Deadlift

8 x 100 / 5 x 120 / 3 x 140 / 160 / 180 / 185 / 200

Yes, I hit 200 again! It’s the third time I have lifted 200kg but we’ve not looked at Deadlifts at all this year, I don’t think. It was a struggle like no other but I made it in front of the class. Unlike last time, with wrist straps, this was done with simply a strong grip and a truck load of balls.

MetCon

14min AMRepAP

  • 1km Run
  • 50 x Toes to Bar
  • 40 x Wall Ball (9kg to 10′)
  • 30 x Cleans @ 62.5kg
  • 20 x Muscle Ups

Back on 23 Jan, I completed this with 19 Cleans. Today, I pushed that 6 Cleans further with a grand total of 125. That’s about an extra minute that I found from somewhere. Certainly, the Cleans still slowed me down but there has been a real improvement there too.

So, all in all, this has been a pretty good test week so far. Sure, I’ve not had a PR every day but you can’t enter test week and suddenly assume that you’re going to be at your best each time you step in to the Box. Why would you be? It’s utterly unrealistic to be at your best just because the programming says so. But I do expect to get within about 10% or so and that’s been the case so far.

2 days of testing left. I wonder what tomorrow will bring…….perhaps Fran?

LET’S BLOODY HOPE SO!

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

