Mon 22 Sept 15 – Getting Strong(er)

I do enjoy coaching in the mornings, I really do. Don’t get me wrong, there is a vast ocean of suck about getting up so early and trudging through the rain in the dark but once there the energy usually begins to flow. Seeing the incredible development in some of my ‘charges’ over the last 6-9 months and knowing I’ve had something to do with it really makes it worthwhile. To know thay they are also motivated to get up at that hour and put the effort in does motivate me too.

So, with that in mind, I quite cheerfully set off for CF Plymouth to open up and get stuck in. The WOD included Cleans and, actually having had some good development myself in this area recently, I was feeling pretty buoyed. While they strolled in ‘almost’ on time, I got the place set up and began taking them through the warm up; we focused on the knee position in the first pull of the clean, using the PVC pipes to highlight back position. In a short time, people were awake and so we dived in:

Strength

Every Other Minute 20

  • 1 x Clean (pause at the knee)
  • 1 x Clean

Essentially a 2RM Clean but with a pause at the knee on the first rep.

Scores: 70 / 75 / 80 / 85 / 85 / 90 / 90 / 92.5 / 95 / 97.5

Yes! A whole new 2RM PR for the Clean! If nothing else goes right this year, at least I know I’ll have become stronger and more explosive. I worked my way up through the weights, repeating a weight if it wasn’t quite perfect. 95 went up easier that 92.5 and so I knew I could push for a new top score. What a struggle it was! The second rep was caught fine but getting out of that hole was a mess. Sure, I made it and I’ll have become stronger because of it but it took everything I had to achieve it.

MetCon

For Time, 21-15-9-15-21:

  • Power Clean @ 50kg
  • Burpee Over Bar

In the words of one of the athletes this morning, “Juicy!”. What can I say about this other than it just had to be worked through. I scaled this to 50kg rather than the Rx 60kg but it was hard enough, believe me.

All in all, a top way to start the week. So far, the calendar is looking great and I should be able to get 5 sessions in this week, spending a lot of time on the Snatch and (where rings are available) Muscle Ups.

Leave a Reply

