Mon 14 Sept 14 – Personal Record to start the week

And sometimes it just works.

As per usual, it was an 0540 start this morning, in the box for 0600 and warming up at 0615. The coffee was still hot at this point and there were only a few bodies joining in (although others turned up late! 😦 ) We went through a very comprehensive warm up, digging in to some overhead squat work and a good Clean complex. There’s a big emphasis on overhead work at the moment and it’s my job to ensure it is done correctly. Internal rotation of the shoulders is the big issue here; it’s easy to rotate in, stick your arse in the air and lfit weight with a horizontal back. By doing so, you have shock-loaded an unprotected shoulder joint and must then rise from depth rotating the shoulder back as you do so, under extreme load. You are also not rising vertically, but with a tendancy to rise butt first, pushing the load forward initially instead of up and then generating forward momentum that must be overcome. So what do we do? We externally rotate the shoulders, keeping armpits facing forward and elbows down to the floor. Try it. Sure, it’s really bloody hard! It’s hard because we are middle aged individuals who have sat down for more than 3/4 of our waking lives with short hamstrings, tight calves and with no flexibility in the thoracic spine. It doesn’t mean we lift heavy anyway, it means we work to overcome the limitations and improve upon them.

At least, that’s the theory. In reality, it means people ignoring the coach just because they want to see increased numbers on the board at the end. And then they blame CrossFit for any injury.

So we are working overhead movements a lot right now and I’m happy to see it given the attention it needs. After that, we moved in to the Clean complex with 30kg before setting off on the strength portion of today’s mission.

Strength

Every Other Minute – 20 mins

  • 1 x Clean
  • 1 x Front Squat
  • 1 x Jerk

60 / 65 / 70 / 75 / 80 / 85 / 90 / 95 / 100 / 102.5

YES!! A new 1 Rep Max for the Clean & Jerk!! And it included a separate front squat in the middle of it! BOOM!! SMASH! That’s 100kg well and truly done, cemented in place, and overcome. 90 and 95 went up very easily, so I knew 100kg was on the cards. When that went up smoothly, including the front squat thereafter, I knew I had another in me. Wanting to end on a high and finally break past 100kg, I chose 102.5 instead of 105. Sure, I probably should have gone for 105 but this was about psychology more than strength. 100 is now no longer a fear for me. Next stop, 110. That’s my goal for the Clean & Jerk by June 2016.

MetCon

5 Rounds for Time:

  • 5 x Pull Up (Strict)
  • 10 x Push Up
  • 15 x Air Squat
  • 40 x Double Under

Time: 9:36 Rx

Recently, it’s been push ups that have stimied me but today it was pull ups. The first round was unbroken but the other 4 were 3+2. Given the C&Js, plus the push ups, I suppose this is to be expected. I’m not down about it though. The double unders were decidedly ropey (excuse the pun) today. While the first round was unbroken, the others certainly weren’t and were a mess. I’m happy to take this today due to achilles pain and having done so well in the strength portion.

Recovery

I’ve added in a new title now, focused on any injury areas that need to be addressed. As you all know, it’s achilles tendonopathy that restricts some of what I do. While I know it to be degenerative, I can’t just let it degrade and accept it, I shall continue to work on it. I went through 3 months of the Alfredson protocol last year and will redo that this year but with 10kg extra. Twice a day, 3 x 15 (per leg), toes on a step and lowering to full extension before recovering to horizontal while using the other leg to assist – I haven’t explained that well, I apologise, but I think you get what I mean.

Leave a Reply

