04 Sept – 24 for 24. Holy charity WOD smash, Batman! “Children in Need”

20150904-24_WOD_Charity

 

Check out this WOD people!!

Immediately, I know there will be a divergence on the value of WODs like this but let me explain before walking away. This is a standalone WOD in its own right and was set up as a challenge by one of our members to raise money for the charity “Children in Need”. It is no different to going and playing a rugby match and is a challenge, not “CrossFit programming”. I can hear the haters already ;o)

So, this wasn’t my first WOD today so I’ll get to this one in a moment.

First thing this morning I was up and out to CFP, welcoming some 10 people in to the box and taking them through:

Strength / Gymnastics

EMOM 20

  • Even: 1-5 Muscle Ups
  • Odd: 5 x Strict Press (heavy)

The Muscle Ups smashed me this morning. 3 weeks out of the box has resulted in a shocking loss of gymnastic ability. Luckily, I know it won’t take long to regain but even so, my average was only 2. There were some 3s and there were some singles. Previously, I had completed a similar WOD with 3-4. For the Strict Press, my results were: 60 / 60 / 60 / 50 / 50 / 50 / 55 / 55 / 55 / 55. I started too heavy and felt it quickly. I have lifted more and heavier in the past and will soon get back there.

MetCon

5 Rounds For Time:

  • 10 x Push Ups
  • 20 x Wall Balls
  • 30 x Double Unders (unbroken)

Very much in my wheel-house, despite the time off. I raced through this almost unbroken. Push Ups (again!) were a weakness but I don’t know if this was a result of the strict press. Wall Balls were only broken in half and double unders were completely unbroken. I can do better but I worked hard.

Time: 10:09 Rx

 

So, on to this monster workout. Like the 12 Days of Christmas WODs that I’ve taken on in the past, this was simply one of those that just has to be completed. I set myself a target of 60mins and ended up pretty goddamn close, pushing myself hard through the strict Handstand Pushups at the end. I intentionally began very slow; I watched a few people race off despite the advice and knew, like with my marathon some years ago, that I had to stick to my strategy. All of the bodyweight stuff was smashed really quickly and I knew they were going to catch up time for me. Aside from the deadlifts, I found the 40kg barbell movements relatively tough. I broke down all movements in to groups of 6 or more each time, sticking to it as much as I could all the way through. Pleasing were the pull ups where I pushed out 2 x 10 and a 4, all butterfly kips and very swift. The kipping Handstand Push Ups and final strict ones were real gems too, enabling me to overtake and make up a lot of time.

After the WOD this morning, this was always going to be hard but overall I am happy with how it went. I do love these really long ones. While I can’t run long distances well, I do seem to have the capacity to do lots of short sprints movements over a long period.

59:35 – that’s more work than would be done in a rugby match and I know that tomorrow, while heading to the Wales vs Italy, I will feel like I’ve just played.

 

Leave a Reply

