26 Aug – The Saxon Strongman. Embrace your Fears.

Arriving for the evening session at Saxon CF, I was again confronted with two options. The first was a gymnastics MetCon of pull ups, wall walks, dips and toes-to-bar with a 500m Row thrown in.

The second option was this:

image

Immediately fearing the latter, I chose it.

With no detail and only 1 other partaker, I was told to pick up a 60kg D-Ball (think medicine ball filled with wet sand) and head outside to a stack of tyres. Oh, I should mention that we’d just run 800m with a 24kg Kettlebell to warm up. We could see a blue ISO container 75m away.

The WOD?

Part 1 – Load Carry

Run 150 w/ 60kg
Rest 1 min
Run 150 w/ 50kg
Rest 1 min
Run 150 w/ 60kg
Rest 1 min
Run 150 w/ 50kg
Rest 1 min
Run 150 w/ 60kg

Each run was kept under 1 min by 2-6 seconds.

Part 2 – Sled Drag (car tyre with bumper plates in, coupled to Shoulder harness by a rope).

Run 150 w/ Tyre plus 5kg
Rest 1.5 min
Run 150 w/ 15kg
Rest 1.5 min
Run 150 w/ 15kg
Rest 1.5 min
Run 150 w/ 15kg
Rest 1.5 min
Run 150 w/ 10kg

Keeping each run to under 1.5 mins was hard work. I dropped to 10 at the end because I failed to achieve the 90 sec target on round 4 by 6 secs. I don’t know how much the tyre weighed but the friction added a lot. I was close to sick at the end.

Part 3 – Tyre Flip (97kg)

5 Rounds For Reps

1 min Tyre Flip
1 min Rest

16 / 18 / 21 / 21 / 21 = 97

Starting too slowly, I picked up the pace and really went for it. The other guy, very slow on the other two parts, was good at this and I couldn’t slack.

I’m pleased that I opted for this today. “Carrying Large Loads, Long Distances, Quickly” is a CrossFit mantra and Strongman work is entirely about that. It challenges you in completely different ways, forcing you to move in real world situations. I can certainly feel the fatigue in ways I’ve not felt since I last played rugby!!

More than that though, I intentionally attacked my weaknesses and came away victorious.

Oh, and Rock (France) is definitely over 65kg.

Leave a Reply

