15 Jul 15 – Wed morning Coaching

I am loving coaching, I really am. I think I am very fortunate to have realised that one of the things I am put on to this earth to do is to coach others. I firmly believe that.

Getting up at 0540 to coach CrossFit…..yeah, I love that too! Sure, it’s early, but the people that turn up are perhaps the most dedicated of all of those that I am fortunate enough to coach. To pull your ass out of bed that early and then put in that amount of effort is not to be sniffed at; it’s impressive stuff.

Strength

 

4 sets of:

  • 3 x Back Squat
  • 5 x Seated Box Jumps

My final totals were 110kg for the Back Squat and 41″ for the Box Jumps. I know I could (and have done) heavier on the back squats but it just wasn’t there this morning. My mind was elsewhere and I was intent on coaching the others, getting my lifts in between theirs. That said, I was very impressed to be able to jump on to a 41″ platform from a seated position; this is a considerable increase in my box jump height and I’m pleased with that.

 MetCon

EOM 15

  • 5 x Clean-to-Thruster (60kg)
  • 5 x Toes To Bar
  • 10 x Hand Release Push Ups

Total: 6 rounds complete.

EMOM / EOM are fantastic methods of increasing your lactic acid tolerance, improving your recovery time and extending your ability to work at extremely high rates. This was a perfect workout to prove and improve that. The Clusters were tough. I broke them in to 3+2 or 3+1+1. Toes To Bar were all unbroken but the HR Push Ups really took it out of the shoulders. The first 2 rounds were unbroken but the 6 rounds after that were 5+3+2. This left me flat on my back in the end. Perfect to kick of the day.

Leave a Reply

