10 Jul 15 – Ending the week, strong as hell.

As I’ve said before, please don’t take my lack of blogging this week as an indication of no fitness work done. After a strong Monday outing, I managed to sneak in in the early hours and get a session cracked in work (followed by bacon and eggs, always great). That Tuesday sessions involved snatches, hang snatches and then a 21-15-9 of Deadlifts (100kg) and Box jumps (24″). I completed it in a pretty ropey time of 5:49 but the Snatch work was the important bit. On Wednesday, we had a bit of a sports gathering here and had a spot of gig-racing on the open water. To be fair, 11 mins of splashing my oar around in  mindless fashion was hardly work so I hit today’s WOD with two days off.

Up at 0545, in to CrossFit Plymouth and presented with quite a considerable amount of work to get through. Perfect. I love finishing the week in this way – there’s pizza and beer on the menu tonight, people!!

Strength

Every Other Minute (20 mins – 10 rounds)

  • 1 x Hang Power Snatch
  • 1 x Hang Snatch
  • 1 x Overhead Squat

40 / 40 / 50 / 50 / 55 / 55 / 55 / 55 /  55 / 60 (F x 2)

Failing at 60kg at the end, I worked really bloody hard throughout this one. Working so early in the morning is always a problem but there’s not a lot I can do about that. I’ve been making slow gains in the Clean & Jerk and although Snatch is still a problem, I am not overly worried.

MetCon

3 x 5min AMRAPS (3 min Rest in between)

AMRAP 1

  • 5 x Power Clean (50kg)
  • 5 x Push Up (Hand Release)
  • 5 x Kettlebell Swings (32kg)

Total Rounds: 6 complete

AMRAP 2

  • 5 x Power Snatch (50kg)
  • 5 x Box Jumps (24″
  • 5 x Burpees

Total Rounds: 4 complete

AMRAP 3

  • 5 x Thrusters
  • 5 x Handstand Push Ups
  • 50m Run

Total Rounds: 4 complete

This was excellent, I loved it. Knowing the Snatches of the 2nd AMRAP would slow me down, I went for the first one unbroken and achieved it. 6 rounds was 1 full round behind the top guy in CFP although I’m not entirely sure he was giving it his all. Sure enough, the 2nd AMRAP slowed me down with the Snatches. These were in 2s and 1s but with as little break as I could manage (maybe). The box jumps and burpees were unbroken but not at 100% pace. That said, the final round of burpees were at max pace just to get me in under the wire. More than the others, I enjoyed the final AMRAP. Achieving a meagre 4 rounds, I was initially a bit disheartened but then I saw two of the top athletes in CFP trailing with 3+ rounds. I FULLY acknowledge that they had decided to slow down a little in order to focus on the follow-on training that they were doing but it gave me confidence to race them and do well. The 50m Run was closer to 75m and I absolutely sprinted the final one to get in with 4 complete rounds.

All-in-all, a great end to the fitness week. I am coaching this evening and always look forward to that more than working myself. I love seeing the development in the athletes and knowing that I have just a little part to play in it. Seeing athletes with a myriad of goals all there striving to perform and being able to tap in to each one in the best way to optimise their efforts is extremely rewarding.

Leave a Reply

