06 Jul 06 – Back in to CFP…..with a bump

Before I get in to today’s action, I just wanted to mention that last week (far from resting in the sun), I ran up Castle Hill in Townsville 3 times. It’s a 3km all-uphill route climbing 286m in total. That’s a 1:10.5 incline! (So every 10.5m along is 1m up). It was in 26C, ridiculous humidity and I was pleased to complete the route in 19:17 as my fastest time. While waiting for my host to arrive after me, I also completed multiple rounds of Handstand Push Ups, Burpees, Dips and Sit Ups. So, definitely not languishing in the sun for me!

 

Anyway, back to this week. Still in the throws of jet-leg (up at 0400 yesterday and today, despite pushing out very long days to try and make myself tired), and with just a handful of almonds inside me, it was back down to CFP for the 0615 session. I should point out that it ain’t exactly winter here and I may have to switch my morning coffee for something colder; I was sweating buckets just from looking at the barbell.

Strength

EOM 20

  • 1 x Hang Clean
  • 1 x Front Squat
  • 1 x Split Jerk

60 / 60 / 60 / 70 / 70 / 70 / 80 / 85 / 90 / 95kg

This is an incredible new record for me. Completing a Hang Clean at 95kg shows that I should now be well above 100kg on the Clean & Jerk which gives me so much confidence. To complete that with an additional front squat before the Jerk is also pleasing. The last rep, at 95kg, was a little ropey. I failed initially but immediately rest and went again, completing the Jerk with a bit of a ‘press’ to lock out before I then stood up; all legal.

MetCon

3 Rounds For Time:

  • Run 800m
  • 21 x Burpee
  • 15 x Dips (parallel bars)
  • 9 x Power Clean @ 60kg

Time: 24:48

Rx for this WOD required Strict Ring Dips and 70kg Power Cleans but that was beyond me and I turned it down a notch after the first rep at the Dips. There was no way I was going to finish within 30mins had I stuck to the Rx. It wasn’t as if I didn’t work bloody hard though. What a start to the week!

Leave a Reply

