08 June 15 – Monday morning on the Ropes

Forgive me, Thor, for it is 5 days since my last confession. That’s not to say that I haven’t worked out in that time, just that I’ve not bored 1 or 2 people about it. Since my 7min Burpee record last week, I have completed a 5 RFT Bodeefit.com WOD (20 x Jumping Lunges, 30 sec Handstand Hold, 10 x Burpee in 8:32) as well as a 10 RFT (10 x Air Squats, 10 x HR Push Ups, 10 x Sit Ups in 8:20) yesterday. I’ve pushed myself hard in them and maintained a bit of overall conditioning but I was keen to get back on the barbell today.

Repeating the 03 June WOD:

EMOM 10 (well, every 90 secs)

  • 1 x Snatch
  • 1 x OHS

52.5 / 52.5 / 57.5 / 57.5 / 62.5 / 62.5 / 65 / 65/ 67.5 / 67.5kg

This is a considerable improvement on last week, beginning at 52.5 vice 40 and ending at 67.5 vice 65. Next time, I want that last number to read 70kg to give me some sense of confidence with the bar. 70kg was my approved 1 RM (full depth) before and I want to start getting past it.

MetCon

4 RFT:

  • 400m Run
  • 4 x Rope Climb (15′)
  • 16 x Kettlebell Snatch (Single Arm @ 24kg)

Time: 18:24 Rx

Having not climbed a rope in quite some time, I was a little nervous but knew I was going to be quite strong at this one. However, I appeared to neglect the little matter of the 400m Runs. For some reason, there was absolutely nothing in the legs and the running (normally a strong suit) was a slow plod. I caught up each time in the rope climbs though and although I am now missing skin on my ankles and have bruising on my knees, I thoroughly enjoyed it. The single arm KB Snatches were a lot better than I was expecting; 24kg is now relatively average and I should be working on 32kg for swings, where possible.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: 08 June 15 – Monday morning on the Ropes - Reynolds Performance Club

Leave a Reply

