01 Jun 15 – Follow the Snatch!

More Snatch work this morning. I look forward to this at the moment because I know I will see gains relatively quickly once I get stuck in to it. It would appear that the programming has Snatch on the menu this week and so there should be lots of opportunity.

It was the 0615 session this morning. I know I haven’t completely recovered from the 6 sessions last week but that’s fine overall; minor aches and niggles are a matter of maintenance rather than anything to be overly converned with at this stage. I’ll soon have quite a bit of time away from regular PT as I head overseas for 3 weeks soon. That said, I am booked in to the same Box that Kara Webb trains in!

Strength

EMOM 10

  • 1 x Snatch
  • 1 x OHS

40 / 50 / 50 / 55 / 55 / 60 / 62.5 / 62.5 / 62.5 / 65kg

I started too light. I should start at 50kg next time and give myself more volume within such a limited session. Granted, I may not have beaten the 65kg at the end but I could do with the extra Kgs on the bar at the moment. I failed at 60 and 62.5, quickly recovering to get that bar up safely and then conducting the OHS. Form is everything in this and I am fighting to keep those shoulders externally rotated. Hell, it’s tough. It would be so much easier to just let the shoulders collapse inwards but I’m not going to let that happen.

MetCon

21-15-9 For time:

  • Toes to Bar
  • Overhead Squat @ 50kg

20 x Double Unders between each round

Time: 7:16

Rx for this should have been 60kg but after OHS for the warm up, then in the Strength period, I wasn’t going to push it.  Overhead Squats / Snatch remain a weakness although I am making ground on them. The Toes to Bar were surprisingly weak this morning and so I should perhaps add a few of these in to warm ups (as well as Muscle Ups) in order to maintain the skill.

If I can fit it in today, I’ll get another session in, following the Mainsite WODs where possible.

 

Leave a Reply

