30 May 15 -Partner WOD in Plymouth

When I started this blog, I highlighted that I needed to work in a team construct more in order to progress; I am motivated by affiliation and achievement. This is perhaps only the 3rd or 4th time I’ve managed to do this in about a year and, once again, I saw immediate benefits. Partnering with the box owner, I really felt under pressure to perform and left nothing in the tank.

  • 10 to 1 Chest to Bar Pull Ups
  • 30 Partner Strict Press 60kg
  • 1 to 10 Squat Cleans 60kg
  • 30 HSPU’s
  • 10 to 1 Chest to Bar Pull Ups
  • 30 Overhead Squats 60kg
  • 1 to 10 Clusters 60kg
  • 200 Double Unders

Sitting here, writing this, I cannot remember the time we took to complete this. Needlesstosay, we were first of the Rx partnerships in just over 30mins, I think. I kicked it off and did all the even number Chest to Bars (total 30) with regular kip. JB completed with butterflys and I really do need to work on that skill. We smashed the Strict Press (holding end of the barbell each) with a 15, 7 and 2×4. I then completed the even number Squat Cleans (x30) although this slowed me right down. I don’t have the muscular endurance of JB but being in a partnership really pushed me to speed up. We equalled out the Handstand Push Ups with 15 apiece. JB kicked off the Overhead Squats with a 13. I managed a further 9, breaking it in to 2 (having to Snatch it each time was tough). JB did 4 and I did 3 to finish. Next up with the Clean/Thrusters; JB knew I was flagging and took the evens this time, leaving me with just the odds (x25). Trailing to a non-Rx team, we headed in to the Double Unders and each managed 2 sets of 50. I broke in my second set, tripping on the rope, but recovered well.

A big thanks to JB for the help in this one; I need to be pushed and I relish the pressure of having teammates relying on me.

A huge thanks also must go to Mrs Nomad; it was my birthday last week and she had noted that I was running low on Whey Protein. Not having a lot in the coffers right now, I was thinking that I might have to forego the extra protein for a while but she came through with a huge back of Whey Protein (Chocolate Orange flavour) for me!!

And now, a rest.

Saturday Morning Partner WOD

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

