28 May 15 – Turn up the Snatch Volume!

Ok. Knowing how much of a weakness the Snatch is for me, I took today as a real opportunity to get some time on (under) the bar, working different progressive movements and building up to heavier sets. Starting with Overhead Squats, I then pushed through Snatch Balance, Hi-Hang Snatch, Hang Snatch and then finished with the Snatch itself. Each movement was conducted as a 5 x 3 (with 90sec rest in between sets), increasing the weight throughout. This was not to find a 3 Rep Max (RM) for each of the movements but more about getting safe and strong training in as well as simply significantly increasing the volume of work done; after all, it’s volume of work done that illicits change overall.

Overhead Squat

50 / 50 / 55 / 57.5 / 60kg = 817.5 (5 x 3 reps)

Maintaining those externally rotated shoulders is the limiting factor here. It would have been easier to internally rotate them, I’d have been able to lift much more, but form is everything.

Snatch Balance

40 / 40 / 45 / 47.5 / 52.5kg = 675kg

This is a movement that I do not do enough of. It took some getting used it but once the confidence  built, I was happy to increase the weight.

Snatch High Hang

45 / 45 / 47.5 / 52.5 / 55kg = 735kg

This was about working the ‘finish’ and getting those Traps high up around my ears.

Hang Snatch

50 / 50 / 52.5 / 55 / 57.5kg = 795kg

A little more speed in this one. I’ve finally started getting in to the correct position and engaging my hips more. I know this because of the bruising around the front of my pelvis!

Snatch

55 / 55 / 57.5 / 57.5 / 60kg = 855kg

I should like to point out that by this stage I was completely spent. However, there was just enough in the tank to get these done properly.

 

In total, the barbell was moved 75 times above my head. A total weight of 3877.5kg was shifted above my head over 90 mins. I’m quite pleased with that, if I’m honest. My thumbs are absolutely throbbing after use of hook grip for 100% of the lifts but that’s to be expected. This kind of session needs to happen once a week, if I can get it in, just to get that confidence under the bar. The sheer volume will obviously have significant benefits elsewhere too.

I had intended to have a little ‘finisher’ in the shape of Annie (50-40-30-20-10 Double Unders and Sit Ups) but my coordination was largely screwed by then and the double unders were not forthcoming. I’m not too upset though, I think I’ve done enough today.

Leave a Reply

