26 May 15 – Double Tap the Snatch

A 0700 session awaited me this morning and I knew it wasn’t going to be pretty as it opened with the Snatch. My traditional weakness, I can’t believe I have paid this so little attention over the last 4 years. It is like I am scared of it and I hate that, especially given the progress in the Clean & Jerk. However, there it was on the whiteboard and so it had to be attacked.

5 x 1 Snatch

62.5 / 62.5 / 65 / 65 / 65kg

My 1RM for this was a 75kg, badly done, well over a year ago back in Portsmouth in CrossFit Keelhaul. Since then, I have achieved a 70kg but it’s been the area of least progress. My problem, not surprisingly, today was the consistency and lack thereof. Form was all over the place and I simply need more time on the bar. However, it appears that this 5 x 1 beats my previous 5 x 1 Snatch and so remarkably it appears to show some degree of progress but I’m not convinced.

The Snatch was then followed by an area of strength for me; push presses, push jerks and split jerks.

5 Rounds of:

  • 3 x Push Press
  • 2 x Push Jerk
  • 1 x Split Jerk

70 / 70 / 75 / 75 / 75kg

I really pushed this one hard today. Cleaning the bar each time, I was determined to make some gains here and I certainly have. I enjoy the overhead stuff (less the Snatch) and considering I only weigh 79kg at the moment this is a strong performance.

8 min AMRAP

  • 15 x Wall Ball (9kg to 10′)
  • 10 x Push Ups
  • 5 x Toes To Bar

Rounds: 6 complete

I let myself down in this AMRAP. Retreating in to myself, I dropped the wall balls too many times and didn’t push myself through. The Toes to Bar were completely unbroken but the Wall Balls were broken in to 10+5 after round 2. The Push Ups (seriously!!) were the let down massively. After the Wall Balls, the shoulders were empty and I had to break the push ups in half after the first round. Interestingly, I decided to do the Toes To Bar with an underhand grip and this really did help maintain external rotation in the shoulders which, in turn, helped with the Wall Balls. Something to remember there.

 

Not content with the Snatches this morning, and knowing I have to get more time on the bar, I decided to take someone up on their offer of assistance this afternoon and head in to the base gym for an hour. Doing nothing but the Snatch Transition Exercises and then building up slowly with weight, I managed 5 x 1 at 65kg with far more stability and confidence. I need to work this more and will do more tomorrow, if I get the chance.

Leave a Reply

