20 May 15 – Achilles…..POP!

Shit. Crap. Bollocks. F@!k.

Yes, I am sorry but here we go again….achilles injury once more. AAAAAAAAAAARGH!!!!

Those sodding 500 Double Unders a few weeks ago, followed by my fitness test, have set me back months. Oddly, I somehow made it through 25 miles of arduous cross-country but now I am back in agony. This morning’s WOD included 400 Double Unders but I made it barely through 40. I am sick of this. A 35 (36 in 2 days time) year old male and I have the weak ankles of my 3 yr old daughters. I’ve tried everything out there over the years yet I keep returning to this utter agony every few months. If any of you out there have any ideas, please let me know. I’m going back in to the Alfredson regime as of tomorrow; it helped while I was doing it (3 months straight) but since stopping it, the pain has slowly returned.

Strength

10 mins to a 3 RM Front Squat

70 / 80 / 90 / 100 / 110 / 115 (F)

My 3 RM is 112.5 and so I’m not too upset with the failure at 115 today. Trying to max out a Front Squat at 0630 is never going to result in the best performance. Form was good throughout and I’m happy.

 

MetCon

Every Other Minute (20 mins)

  • 3 x Power Snatch (50kg)
  • 6 x Sumo Deadlift High Pull
  • 40 x Double Under

RX today was 60kg but my Snatch hasn’t had much work on it recently and I kept at 50kg. I completed all 10 rounds of the Snatches unbroken, The Sumo Deadlift High Pulls were where the fatigue started to set it although these were unbroken too (perhaps I should have pushed for 55 kg….or maybe 60….nah, let’s not get ahead of myself here). It was the Double Under sets that really screwed me though. After the first 40, my right achilles just screamed and seized up. Not to suddenly give in though, I grabbed a 24″ box and did 10 x Box Step Overs instead.

What am I going to do with my achilles? I think I’ll have to book an appointment and get a referral to a physio for a scan just to see what the damage is.

 

Leave a Reply

